More to do? Hero W/Fresh


Last Updated:

  1. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just got Fresh installed on My Sprint Hero, I like the new ROM a lot! What I am wondering is am I done now. Do I need to add some sort of file to overclock my CPU or has Fresh done this for me already? Another thing I want to be able to do is load my apps on my SD card, can that be done with Fresh or must I add a file for it to work?

    Thanks
    cordell
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    You need to add a custom kernel in order to OC and you need partition your SD card (it'll wipe EVERYTHING on your SD card).
     
    cordell and deedub like this.
  3. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1

    Any idea where to find threads on the process of doing the kernal install, and partition? I think I can manage the partition with Rom Manager program, BUT if it wipes EVERYTHING off the SD will that effect my install of Fresh? God I hope not, lol.
     
  4. deedub

    deedub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    20
    :eek: Yikes, that's important info to know!!
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Will not effect your install of Fresh.

    [KERNEL][7/22/10]Darchstar's Overclocked Undervolted kernel for senseUI roms vUV 2 - xda-developers for Kernel info

    Fresh is setup to run apps2sd IIRC, you can partition through the recovery screen.

    Haha, very good info to know!
     
    cordell likes this.
  6. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    When creating the partition what size does it need to be? And once done when installing a app will it ask me where to install the app, phone or SD card?
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Partition - going with the defaults are fine

    With Fresh it'll automatically install them to the SD IIRC.
     
    cordell likes this.
  8. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I set a partition and installed a app, I checked with astro to see if it was on card, nope. I plugged phone into PC to explore SD card, well it got bumped and messed up the SD Card! So I reboot, well while in I was in Rom Manager I clicked a thing called Fix File Permissions, it did 162 of them and told me I need a reboot. Now I rebooted phone with NO SD CARD and the droid guy dances and starts all over. It has done this 20 times now! Do I let it keep restarting, or what? I have a back up of the files that were on SD card before partition. Can I tpull battery and insert a back up SD to fix this issue?
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Try booting into recovery and clearing your cache. I have never used rom manager so not sure
     
    cordell likes this.
  10. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I cant boot into recovery, ROMmanager is done from phone while running. I tried RA mode, I have no card to wipe clean now. Thats all it does from RA :(
     
  11. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did the clean storage option, it looks like it might be taking me back to where I first installed fresh! God I hope so, I just got this phone last night LOL
     
  12. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    You are a LIFE SAVER! Thanks:)
     
  13. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Glad you got it working :)

    For future reference, you can boot into recovery by turning off the phone and pressing home + power and holding them both until the screen loads.
     
  14. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was reading the thread on the OC kernel. I dont see a kernel for Fresh 2.4, would I just use the Fresh 2.3 kernel?

    I went out and bought a 4 gig SD card since I messed the other one up, ooops, lol. I am going to try the partition again. If you could find out about the kernel for Fresh 2.4 I would greatly appreciate it :)

    Thanks
    cordell
     
  15. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    The kernel for Fresh 2.3.3 will work for Fresh 2.4.0.

    Have you tried reformatting the old SD card from your computer? It's also worth noting that any NEW apps that you install will go to app2sd but the old ones will not, IIRC.
     
    cordell likes this.
  16. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, the PC gave me a error and told me it is not recoverable. It was the 2 gig one that came with the phone so it wasnt that big of deal. I have quite a few 2 gig SD cards around. They work best for Nintendo DS games :) I will flash the 2.3 and do the card partition this evening. I wanted to wait until I heard about that kernel, thanks :)
     
  17. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did the partition and then installed astro file manager. I looked at the SD and it was blank besides a temp file and lost file. So I went to SD info on phone wrote down space on phone and space on sd card. Installed google maps, the app installed on phone not sd card. The memory on phone dropped the size of google maps :( Is ther a setting in Fresh I need to turn on?
     
  18. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    The Hero isn't my daily driver anymore, but from what I recall, there wasn't anything else to turn on.

    Let me see what I can find real quick around the forums.
     
  19. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
  20. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just tried to partition again and now I am stuck in a boot loop like last night GRRRRR!
     
  21. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think I will just skip the app2sd, I will OC though :)
     
  22. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have come to learn that Fresh is touchy when it comes to the SD card. I unmounted and was putting files on it for OC, using the PC. And while the phone was sitting there waiting for me to finish, it rebooted and stuck in the boot loop! OMG crazy!
     
  23. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Dude, that's weird.... maybe Fresh just doesn't like your phone. Try another ROM :)
     
  24. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know right! I turned the phone off and put in a 1 gig sd with the stuff for OC. Boot in recovery and flashed the mod removal, then flashed the OC file. The phone booted up, I ran a app and I clocked CPU at 710, YES! I went with 710 over 768 for stability :) So I then turn phone off, swap sd card to the 4 gig that has a partition on it. BAM! Boot loop again! WTF is up with these boot loops, lol. Anyway I go into recovery and and wipe clean to get it back. Luckily for me the OC stayed :D I dont think I am messing with anything else, lmao. Although I do think I know why the app2sd is not working. That link you gave me told me how to set it up, I have no clue how to change from ext3 from ext2. My sd card is a regular wal mart card as well not a class 6. Once I get a class 6 I will try again :) lol
     
  25. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page

Loading...