Most accurate soft keyboard for the Optimus?Support

Last Updated:

1. MarylandBill

MarylandBill Member This Topic's Starter

Hi, this is my first post here. I am currently trying to decide on what my next phone will be and the Optimus is very high on my list. I only have one concern about it, and that is the keyboard.

Just a little background. I am a system administrator, so I will from time to time need to use my phone to connect to my systems to fix problems when I am not near a proper computer. I know I can use connectbot with a soft keyboard, but I am concerned about how accurate you can be on a 3.2" screen.

I know there are a lot of soft keyboards available, but my requirements are slightly different than the requirements of people who use their keyboards for email and sms. I don't need to be particularly fast, but I do need to be very accurate. So does anyone have any recommendations?

On a related note, on my last windows phone, I used to use TouchPal soft keyboard, which was pretty decent despite the fact that that phone had a 2.6" resistive touchscreen. Has anyone used TouchPal on a phone with 3.2" screen and have any comments on how well it works?

Thanks,
    Bill

Advertisement
  2. NOMster

NOMster Well-Known Member

Smart keyboard

MarylandBill and K4KAI like this.
  3. AndroidSPCS

AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

I use SwiftKey which is awesome. Also Swype / Ultra Keyboard / Shapewriter are worth looking at for composing emails / texts.

4. MobileFanatic

MobileFanatic Member

Ive been actually wondering the same thing.

I did the update the first day i got my Optimus and it added Swype, but i dont really like it very much.

The stock keyboard isnt too bad IMO but id like something better if possible.

5. telemike

telemike Well-Known Member

Swype, if it would let me hunt-n-peck type as well as swyping I'd use it.

6. telemike

telemike Well-Known Member

Any free keyboards out there that work good?

7. bfready

bfready Active Member