Moto Droid developers area

Last Updated:

1. michaelkahl

michaelkahl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

So HTC owners have XDA, where do people working on the Motorola Droid go to?

Advertisement
  2. michaelkahl

Bump, I'd like to know what we can do to get root access on this phone. I'm pretty familiar with Linux but haven't rooted anything so I'm new in that aspect.

3. aaron5610

aaron5610 Well-Known Member

Not sure if this is what you are looking for? MOTODEV

4. galt

galt Well-Known Member

It might be more prudent to develop for ANDROID, and then add a customization or two if you really need a Droid feature. There are many Android phones coming, and tying yourself to MOT is not a good idea.

Android | Official Website

And you do not need a phone at all to do development, until the very final testing phase.

5. michaelkahl

I'm looking for people / groups that are working on gaining root. Root = total control over the device essentially. At XDA you see people developing methods for gaining root access, building custom Android ROM's, and developing methods for loading those ROMs.
    My ultimate hope would be that root access can be gained so I can do things like use Apps2SD and maybe throw on a custom Sense UI ROM.
    If this doesn't happen I won't be disappointed with the phone, it's still great.

6. bitbuster

bitbuster Member

yes, rooting is high on my list of priorities as well! I am sure there will be options though as I expect the Droid to be sold many more times than any other Android phone yet. So there should be a whole ecosystem of "hackers" develop around this ;) hopefully....

7. ajm144k

ajm144k Well-Known Member

8. michaelkahl

Let's hope you are right. I need to start reading up, I would contribute as much as possible. Since I've never done this it's not something I'd take lightly.

9. galt

galt Well-Known Member