Moto Milestone from Telus - Firmware customizations / limitations / brandingGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. -=MagMan=-

    -=MagMan=- Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!

    I am in the process of getting the Milestone after many years on the WinMo 6.1 platform (HTC TyTN II), and am very excited at the prospect, but even though I have modded that phone a LOT, I am unfamiliar with the Android OS and Milestone, and was hoping someone could answer a few quick questions, as I'm getting conflicting info reading the posts here...

    1. I wanted to get the unbranded / factory unlocked version of Milestone, but looking around I find all those versions are 3G 900/2100 bands, which would not work on NAM 3G 850/1900 networks. Is there a NAM version that can be purchased directly from Motorola?

    2. The Telus version seems to be using a custom Telus bootloader. Does that mean this phone has any kind of custom Telus software, startup/shutdown logos showing Telus? I cannot stand customized carrier crap on smart phones and want nothing to do with them :(

    3. I also read a post that says it's now possible to root the Telus Milestone. If I did, does that mean I can put another SBF that has stock Motorola software, and erase everything from Telus?

    I hope someone here can clarify some of these for me. If I can wipe out all the Telus crap and turn one of theirs into a "clean" Milestone, that would be awesome!

    Thanks in advance guys! Android Rocks, iPhone Sucks! :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. -=MagMan=-

    -=MagMan=- Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've looked around the site a bit deeper, and now know that the Milestone can now be rooted, which is great, but I still can't determine if it will remove any/all Telus branding.

    Is there any way to acomplish this on the Milestone at present? And if I install another SBF from a different local, will I loose my NAM 3G bands?

    I know, I'm a newbie, but just hoping someone can help me out on this.

    Cheers
     
  3. ColHavoc

    ColHavoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is no Telus branding on the phone, save for the logo in the notification area which is not a big deal. As for rooting, yes it is rooted but you will not be able to load any custom ROMS as the bootloader is locked out.

    I have one, and while I like it, the supposed "Smartphone without limits" sure is limited. I would suggest buying a Nexus one.
     
  4. -=MagMan=-

    -=MagMan=- Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're kidding? A Telus phone without any Telus branding?! I think that's a first for any Canadian carrier! LOL!

    What logo in the notification area are you referring to? I tested one at a local cellular shop and didn't see any Telus material in that area of the screen...

    I think that eventually someone will figure out a way to unlock the bootloader, just like they figured out how to root it, so not too concerned about it right now. Especially if the software running on it is a OEM version of Android 2.1 Eclair, than I'm happy with that. Although I have seen postings saying the new 2.1 updated is crippled, a bit worried about that...

    Also, I actually got a chance to use a 3G NAM N1 phone, and although I LOVE the design (probably more than Milestone), the Multitouch issue reported on it is very much real, and VERY annoying, so I don't think I will go for that one :(
     
  5. ColHavoc

    ColHavoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    I remember reading somewhere that Android 2.2 will be addressing the multitouch issue. As for the logo, my mistake, I should have said Company Name. In the bar at the top if you click to drag it down to see any notifications, it does show TELUS. Other than that, the phone is stick with no special Telus branding (logos/apps/etc.). The one thing I did forget about though, is the homepage will always direct you to Telus on the browser until you change it, no major deal.

    I sure hope someone figures out how to hack that bootloader, and soon. The Droid can be overclocked to 1GHz with no problems (except battery draining) and I would love to see a bit of a performance increase to my phone. Scrolling on it with a few apps open just seems to make it stutter.

    Personally, I do like the N1 by Google, but I have been reading up on a new HTC phone coming out and the Samsung Galaxy S that will be released later this year as well, that I have my eye on.
     
  6. SEI

    SEI Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    err.. are you on telus? if you are then that top would make sense as thats for the service provider when i drag mine down it says rogers.. there is no branding whatsoever on this phone..
     
  7. -=MagMan=-

    -=MagMan=- Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would make sense, as what SEI said is correct that the top area (notification area) displays the current carrier name. Pop in another carriers' SIM, and it will show that name.

    I spoke with a cell rep at Future Shop, and he too claims the phone is unbranded, but he mentioned it is bundled with some Telus wallpapers and some software icons; couldn't verify as their locations' demo unit was damaged by a punk who trashed the display LOL!

    Crap, now I cannot make up my mind between the Milestone and N1! :confused:
     
  8. firefight16

    firefight16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Bought mine at Future Shop nothing abot Telus in phone except I think it had a video, I deleted it, but as far as I remember noting about Telus I run mine on Bell. Love the phone, sure so far it can not be rooted, and I ran a custom rom on my touch for years because I had to to get the most out of the phone, the Milestone needs no help it rocks as is. Sure I would love to have a 1 ghz snapdragon but my phone died suddenly and I needed one asap. Some great apps out there and some stuff rooted from nexus like NAV that don't do bad, only hope Motorola stays up to date on Android updates, I would have loved a HTC, but none where available at the time.
     
  9. -=MagMan=-

    -=MagMan=- Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firefight16, good news for you then... The Milestone has finally been rooted ;) It's also apparently confirmed to be rootable even with the new 2.1 update. I don't remember the link, but it has been posted here on the site.

    I think what you said finally pushed me over the edge, especially since you bought the thing from Future Shop and can confirm it's not customized by those $^@$^@ :p
     
  10. SEI

    SEI Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    buy my milestone i want an n1 lol...
     
  11. -=MagMan=-

    -=MagMan=- Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're local in the Vancouver, BC area, and are willing to let your's go for $400, then it's a done deal, as I've just found someone who is selling theirs for that much and it's a week old ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...