Moto torch lives on frf57!!!


Last Updated:

  1. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    The rightful order has been restored.
     

    Advertisement
    johnlgalt likes this.
  2. silkchaos

    silkchaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    You just gave me my reason to go to it.... I was QUITE Frustrated to find out Mototorch wasn't working last night!
     
  3. eclipsed4utoo

    eclipsed4utoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    27
    What did you do to make it work?
     
  4. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    I didn't do a thing. I just switched to the different froyo, the aforementioned FRF57, and when I loaded it from titanium backup, it worked again.
     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    This 'newer' build seems to fix some things that were not working in the original leak, including your app.

    Good news - there is nothing wrong with your app. :p

    Bad news - you still need to enable the ability to move it to he SDCard.... :D
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Correction - it seems a lot of people are still having issues, However, it works for me both widget and from app itself (strobe, regular and Morse code).
     
  7. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hmmm...those of us that have working Moto Torch: did we all restore from Titanium, or did we let it sync from the Market?
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Neither - I never formatted Data and when I did a custom restore excluding Data and it kept the non working Moto from the first FroYo build - that started working perfectly fine here.
     
  9. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well that's fairly limited data, but it seems to suggest something about either the first Froyo build or the download from the 2.2 Market.


    Oh, and I second johnlgalt, eclips4utoo, your app provides me with endless hours of ranting via Morse coded LED flashes. That is a functionality that has probably kept me from being quietly removed by security from various sinkholes of idiocy. Were I not a lowly, poorly paid translator, rest assured I'd be clicking that PayPal link (and should a good month happen, I will.)

    Let me know if there's anything else you'd like to know.
     
  10. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    Eh, I miss MotoTorch. I am a sad panda.
     
  11. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    So which Froyo are you running? Did you restore via TB or did you let it sync back up from the market?
     
  12. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    I'm running Fab's latest version of NexFro. It synced from the Market.
     
  13. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    As far as I know NF 1.01 is based of FRF57, so do you have Moto Torch backed up perchance? If you do, try uninstalling it and reinstalling from the backup. Tinker tinker tinker, s'basically how our lives go, right?
     
  14. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Welp ... I've done everything I can think of. I've installed several different backups (all the way back to January) and still no love from MotoTorch. I'm bummed...
     
  15. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    It's the same here, I've done the backups, I've reinstalled, fixed permissions, nothing. At least we know the dev is aware of the issue.
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    OK, it works for me in FRF57 nonthemed - but as soon as I updated to NexFro 1.0.1 it broke.
     
  17. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    Oh, johnlgalt, you stole the typed words right out from under my fingers. I was just going to ask Joe if he was running NexFro. (I know, I know, I could probably visit the thread and find out, but I'm sporadically visiting the forum while I work.) I'd flash NexFro myself to check, but I deathly afraid of disrupting the fragile equilibrium I currently have with my 3G. Perhaps asking Fab might be of some use? I'm suffering the stock notification bar because I'd rather have Moto Torch, but if you think working my wiles might hurry the resolution for those of you so sadly torchless, I'll do what I can. (Though I point out that my wiles at this distance from Fab and Eclipse are basically limited to a cute thank you picture, and/or the offer of a coffee if they ever come down to Houston should it not offend their possible significant others or of course, the promise of fulsome and loquacious praise.)
     
  18. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Don't flash NexFro yet - it is the cause of MT breaking. Why, not sure yet.
     
  19. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    Which is sad, b/c it's an otherwise awesome ROM.
     
  20. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    Awwww...y'all are making me want to take a stab at the code and make the townsfolk rejoice with a merry dance....wait...no...urge fading...laziness rising. Whew! Back to normalcy, wherein I do work for cashy money as opposed to adulation.
     
  21. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Remember, NexFro is a themed version of FRF57. FRF57 by itself works perfectly fine with MotoTorch.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  22. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    TBH, I think that the build.prop used to fix the market issues may, in fact, just be a modified build.prop from the first FroYo that was released, the same one that also broke Mototorch....

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  23. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    I feel like many in this forum would just consider that giving up rather than sensible. Plus, I feel like a ton of them don't just not like the stock notification bar and GUI, they have voodoo doll versions of them that they are actively sticking pins in as they visit here.
     
  24. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Your first sentence is not making sense to me. Is there a word missing?

    Nm, I got it. I am not advocating reverting to the base frf57 - I am pointing out that it should be relatively ready to fix. If the base works and the theme doesn't, then something in the theme is breaking it.

    I already have my suspicions....

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  25. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    21
    You are most likely correct. I just want you to know that if you decide to fix it, I've got a round of golf claps with your name on 'em. The question's mostly academic for me as I've decided to stick with this build until Pete comes out with his.
     

Share This Page

Loading...