Motoblur style security timeoutTips


Last Updated:

  1. jomtones

    jomtones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just upgraded from a Motorola Dext / Cliq - man am I happy!

    One thing I really miss from the Motorola setup though was a timeout on the security - eg. if you unlock your phone, use it, turn the screen off and then want to use it again in 2 minutes, you don't have to enter the pin or draw your pattern AGAIN straight away!

    Believe me its incredibly convenient and if set to a short timeout not much of a security risk. Does anyone know if there's a way to add this feature to a Desire ROM?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Not sure, but the vanilla custom roms (Cyanogen and defrost) have an option to change how long until it locks after screen time-out or screen off. Since you're looking at custom roms anyway, this may be for you.

    Obviously the vanilla roms have no HTC Sense, so since you're new to it, may be worth playing with that until you're bored firstly ;)
     
  3. jomtones

    jomtones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Aw yeah, I really like Sense, so be amazing if I could find a Sense ROM with this option it's so useful :/
     
  4. tiring_day

    tiring_day Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    8
    I am using Sense Froyo and I think you can do what you are asking for. Under settings and Display my screen times out after 30 secs but under Secuirty>Lock Phone after my phone doesn't lock for 5 mins which means if it times out or I lock it I still have 5 mins to get back in with just a swipe down.

    Steve
     
  5. jomtones

    jomtones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wow that sound great I've just rooted so going to try Froyo today! :)
     
  6. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    You could install an alternative lockscreen like lockbot or advanced lock, they should have timeouts.
     
    jomtones likes this.
  7. jomtones

    jomtones Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers, got froyo going and happy with that for now :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...