Motorola Droid 1 no signal and will only boot to bootloader


Last Updated:

  1. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Moto Droid 1 rooted from spf recovery via .zip. I then used Rom Manager to install Clockworkmod Recovery and flash Cyanogenmod 6.0 (Froyo).

    It worked absolutely fine for about a month. Then last night, I found my phone upstairs on AC, and it was on the bootloader menu. I restarted it and found it would only boot into the bootloader. I booted into recovery and tried to reboot from there. This worked but when my phone booted into Cyanogenmod, it had no signal at all.

    After resetting it a few times, I tried doing a factory reset. The problem persisted. I tried wiping the cache partition. Still won't connect. I rerooted. Still won't connect. I did what I thought was flashing my ROM again, but it didn't seem to work (I'm not sure how I could tell). When I try to restore Nanroid, it says "no files found".

    Now it won't boot into the OS at all, just into bootloader.

    Wat do?? Is there something important I'm forgetting? Thanks guys.
     

    Advertisement
  2. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
  3. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Try holding down X before you turn on the power and keep holding it. This will usually take you into recovery. From there you can reinstall Cyanogen or install the nandroid backup you made before installing Cyanogen. You did do that right :)
     
  5. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried flashing the stock ROM back onto my phone using RSD Lite. It got to 100% and then said FAILED. My phone's screen is still hanging on "SW Update in progress..."

    Here's the error code: "Error switching phone to BP pass through mode (0x70BE); phone disconnected"

    I tried moving the file to the root of my C drive, too, still no luck.

    Is my Droid bricked?

    Now my bootloader just says "code corrupt", and I can't boot into the recovery console AT ALL

    I know I made a nandroid backup, but Clockworkmod Recovery says "no files found" when I try to restore. Does this mean the nandroid backup was incorrectly made?
     
  6. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    When I flashed Rsd lite it also said failed on rsd lite but I just clicked the (show device ) button and I succeeded. For some reason it always says failed but it doesn't. Try to flash the stock sbf again and try clicking the show device button when it says failed. You should be back to stock then and can reroot if you want.
     
  7. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried this - my phone disappears from the device list but its screen continues to hang on update in progress...

    I'm going to try again, I'm thinking I may have used 32-bit drivers, and I'm running 64-bit W7. So we'll see.

    Another question. If I take it to the VZW store in its current state (boots immediately to bootloader and says "code corrupt", won't boot into recovery, stock or otherwise) and tell them it "just happened", will they warranty replace it? Or will they laugh in my face?

    Nothing, still.

    I attatched the error log, it mentions a "super-file". Is the file I'm flashing not the right one?
     
  8. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    when i rooted my droid it hung at 99% as well but it actually worked fine for me anyway...
     
  9. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    It gets all the way to 100% and then says failed with the following error codes:


     
  10. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    jeez... my suggestion would be to pm OMJ lol!
     

Share This Page

Loading...