Motorola Droid - I had to do a factory reset today...


Last Updated:

  1. Aelbric

    Aelbric New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...and they just gained a customer for life. :D

    Google Maps, the killer app for the Droid as far as I am concerned, started crashing this morning. I called into tech support who suggested a wipe. I immediately got steamed. My brand new device had to be set to factory defaults. I imagined having to redo the work in installing apps, contacts, calendars, etc. from over the weekend.

    Imagine my surprise when all apps were immediately redownloaded, all google info restored, all data on the SD card still there. All I had to do was move icons to the home screens and reset my IM account info.

    I resisted the iPhone to wait for an "open" platform and am completely glad I did. This device is spectacular. I can't wait for more apps to come available.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Thanks for the Heads up! On my Magic it literally does delete everything So I'm glad this Hard reset feature could be implemented into 2.0 {I hope it is in 2.0 when I receive the Update} :D
     
  3. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303
    Did you have to redo your ring/notification tones and alarms?
     
  4. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    It did that all automatically? This is great! That's the kind of functionality we've wanted even since early Windows OSes on the computer. People didn't reformat their horribly-broken Windows installations because they didn't want to reinstall everything. Kudos to Google for doing this right!
     
  5. Aelbric

    Aelbric New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting question. To be honest, I hadn't gotten as far as customizing those things so I really can't say.
     
  6. dbarrett480

    dbarrett480 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm, I had to hard reset mine too and I had to reinstall all of my apps. Maybe I did it the wrong way or something.
     
  7. ssmith1092

    ssmith1092 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    this might be why it is a good idea to backup your phones maybe. Im not sure if this would save you from lossing all your apps.
     
  8. Jshaw995

    Jshaw995 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    While I am able to get the the yellow triangle, I can go no further...
    I assume the volume rocker is what I should press, along with the gold camera button. Tried holding one then tapping hte other, holding both, holding both sides of the rocker with no avail.
     
  9. keith5885

    keith5885 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    So does a hard reset remove all your apps or not?
     
  10. Backnblack

    Backnblack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0

    Removes everything. Phone is reset to out of box condition.
     
  11. keith5885

    keith5885 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then what the hell is this guy talking about? is factory and hard reset different?
     
  12. Backnblack

    Backnblack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0

    A Hard Reset returns the phone to Factory (like new) conditions.
     
  13. keith5885

    keith5885 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is this guy lying? Or how do you get that to happen?
     
  14. Backnblack

    Backnblack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine has done the same thing. Contacts and apps are backed up on the Google servers with your Gmail account.
     
  15. Amaroth

    Amaroth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    9
    well there is an option in the Privacy settings to do a Factory data reset, and then there is a HARD reset which is done by pressing multiple buttons while powering on the phone...

    There might be a difference in the two
     
  16. keith5885

    keith5885 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know the exact difference between the two? and how to do them exactly?
     
  17. Backnblack

    Backnblack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0

    Have you RTFM?
     
  18. keith5885

    keith5885 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry. That was annoying.

    Doing a factory data reset now after seeing that everything is backed up on 2.0....

    will find out soon for sure.
     
  19. Backnblack

    Backnblack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    My fault...Shouldn't of posted that....
    Dog puked on the carpet we just had cleaned over the weekend:mad:
     
  20. keith5885

    keith5885 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just went to Privacy and did factory data reset. On my DROID.

    After activation and signing into my google account... it went to the desktop.

    All shortcuts are gone but my desktop is the same custom image.

    Syncing is still occurring as I can see the icon above. Nothing seems to have synced yet... going to wait till syncing is done. time is 6:24

    6:25 Just got a new email message alert for gmail.

    6:26 All my applications are restored and in the application list...

    signing into facebook and logging in.

    Just tested the "DA" issue and it works!!

    Other apps need me to redo the settings...

    Everything seems much quicker and snappier at the moment. Hopefully this fixed a few things... I just uninstalled all un-used apps too.
     
  21. Backnblack

    Backnblack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice....Isn't that totally bad-ass!
     
  22. keith5885

    keith5885 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Totally man. Everything is back to how it should... crossing fingers it stays that way.
     
  23. Nepherim

    Nepherim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wish I'd know a factory reset restores apps. I ended up doing a hard reset yesterday, and nothing was restored.
     
  24. Amaroth

    Amaroth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    9
    so anybody know if this works if you were to damage your phone and get it replaced by verizon or best buy or whatever store? Will the new phone remember everything too?

    ah well i geuss it wouldnt if the hard reset wont remember anything...
     
  25. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Because Backup my settings was not active under

    Settings > Privacy > Settings > Backup my Settings

    Mark the box and wait a while...make sure your General Sync settings, and gmail account, are active and run thru a sync cycle. Everything gets backed up to the "Google Cloud" (not sure about contacts...I didn't want them in the cloud and deleted them) including your custom wall paper if you have them. I did a hard reset a few days ago and only had to re-enter my POP3 addresses and passwords, along with my shortcuts, and I was back to 100%. My contacts were imported via the vCard import.
     

Share This Page

Loading...