Motorola Droid Pro-AT&T 3G


Last Updated:

  1. techlover2010

    techlover2010 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone. I'm currently under contract with AT&T and have been wanting a good android phone for quite some time. I really like the droid pro. As a former blackberry user, I'm very attracted by the pro's portrait QWERTY keyboard. I know the droid pro is a world phone and supports AT&T 3G bands (850/1900 MHz). I was wondering if it's possible to unlock the pro now, or would I have to wait until someone figures out how to do that, and then buy the phone? I will be buying the phone at full retail price. Verizon won't unlock it of course, but I was just wondering whether that has been figured out yet. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. =KLRS=ZERO

    =KLRS=ZERO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    since it is a world phone, it should come unlocked
     
  3. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I had an online chat with VZ rep today about doing the same for my AT&T account, and she wrote the following:

    "In order to find out the requirements and the unlock process you would have to call our customer service number at 800-922-0204. They will be able to help you unlock the phone."
     
  4. techlover2010

    techlover2010 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just called and they said no :/ The lady didn't sound like she knew what she was talking about, though. I'm sure there will be ways to unlock the device. I just hope it won't be crippled (i.e., mms would only work through CDMA, something like that). BOOOOOO
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    There have been some pics of the D2Global's box, and it looks like there is a 'pre-loaded' SIM. However I can't believe they are going to restrict their "global roaming" to a predefined carrier. Some have posted that they have their Global/Pros unlocked, with no questions asked from VZ:

    http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid-pro/216108-so-did-anybody-get.html

    Gallery of Global (with packaging):

    http://www.droid-life.com/2010/11/10/droid-2-global-orders-already-arriving-for-customers/#


    My girl's AT&T branded e71x was getting 3G in France and Spain, though I'm not sure with which carrier, but multiple carriers support 850/1900/2100 bands other than what would come with the Global/Pro.
     
  6. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
  7. techlover2010

    techlover2010 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    FWIW I just bought a Motorola Defy last night (I have att & tmo) because the Moto site said it has 850 band for UMTS. Salesman at Tmo store said it would take 2 weeks to get unlock code, despite me buying phone outright, & being on "no_contract" plan.

    I called cust. serv. when I got home anyway, and they were more than willing to provide one. Problem was that it did not work...supposedly they only have a few, new phone,etc. I have a case open, so hopefully I hear something soon.

    Phone is really small, even w/3.7" screen, but reception is better than Nokia n900 and souund quality/volume is really good. I did the Skype echo test call, and thought it was playing through the speaker, because it was fairly loud...it was actually playing through the earpiece, and not quite at half volume.
     
  9. techlover2010

    techlover2010 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice. Hope it works out. This whole locking of devices and carrier exclusivity crap is so annoying. I think we shouldn't have a problem using the phones the way we want if we're buying them at full retail price.

    So, if I wanted to get the droid pro, I suppose I would just buy it with the "month to month" plan and then cancel the plan once the phone arrives?
     
  10. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I'm still thinking about that...was waiting for someone else to confirm the process. I would have even have signed up for 2-year, paid the first month, but then cancel before the 30 days, while paying full retail.

    The T-Mo -> ATT move was painless, but I'm concerned about the lack of 1900 UMTS support. Plus the phone feels small for 2-handed operation, and I'm missing my keyboard. It's more than fine for phone/mail/text, but for apps and hardcore browsing/typing, I'd want something bigger. I may just keep it, as I need something "unlocked" for AT&T, that has solid reception/sound quality, and slingmobile support, then get maybe a Nokia E7 for tethering, skype, etc on T-Mo.
     
  11. w53cig

    w53cig Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    The Droid Pro (and Droid 2 Global) hardware is quad-band GSM and tri-band UMTS, but Verizon's radio firmware has restricted use of the 850/1900 GSM/UMTS bands in the USA. So as of right now, the device will NOT work with AT&T or T-Mobile. This is evidenced by the fact that several people on various forums have tried to use the D2G on AT&T and T-Mobile with no success.

    So basically the radio firmware needs to be hacked to unrestrict the 850/1900 GSM/UMTS bands in the USA, and I know there are devs already working on it. Check out this thread at xdadevelopers: “Answered but not Perfected” Getting to Droid 2 Global to work on USA GSM - xda-developers

    I suppose if you found a foreign carrier who was selling the device, their firmware most likely wouldn't have these restrictions (but you'd almost certainly end up paying $600+ for it)
     
  12. techlover2010

    techlover2010 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I know. I've been reading up on all of this lately, just hoping someone finds a way around it.
     
  13. dsjr2006

    dsjr2006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    14
    They have locked the GSM MCC or Mobile country code of 310 which is the United States. The new global droids are confirmed working in Canada on 850/1900 UMTS, but they have a different MCC. We need a dev to figure out how to reconfigure the radio firmware to remove the block.
     
  14. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303
    Pretty much exactly like I stated with their last "global" phone.

    A better read:

     

Share This Page

Loading...