• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Mp4 Converter that isn't so damn slow?

I just purchased Aimersoft video converter solely for my Droid movie usage. Maybe paying isn't what you're looking to do, but this is my first time purchasing conversion software, and I feel like it was worth it. It has the most profiles for mobile devices of any software I've ever used, and on my aluminum 2.4 ghz imac with 4GB of RAM it takes approximately 45 minutes to encode a 1.3GB AVI file. This is encoded at the Droid's native resolution of 720x480 with a bitrte of 1200 and AAC audio @ 168kb/sec. The software costs $40 but is well worth it. Other popular free alternatives include Handbrake for Windows / Mac.

Upvote 0
I just purchased Aimersoft video converter solely for my Droid movie usage. Maybe paying isn't what you're looking to do, but this is my first time purchasing conversion software, and I feel like it was worth it. It has the most profiles for mobile devices of any software I've ever used, and on my aluminum 2.4 ghz imac with 4GB of RAM it takes approximately 45 minutes to encode a 1.3GB AVI file. This is encoded at the Droid's native resolution of 720x480 with a bitrte of 1200 and AAC audio @ 168kb/sec. The software costs $40 but is well worth it. Other popular free alternatives include Handbrake for Windows / Mac.

Maybe its just my crap pc thats making it run so slow. In the settings for handbrake, I just click the iphone preset and it willat least look decent on my droid right?

Upvote 0

That aluminum must really make a big difference in speed!

Handbrake is very slow but it works well, I just try to plan ahead with it. If you don't have time to then maybe just get a converter known for it's speed and don't bother changing the resolution as long as it is big enough for the Droid.

Upvote 0