Mp4 Converter that isn't so damn slow?


Last Updated:

  1. DaygosDankest

    DaygosDankest Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right now I'm using handbrake to convert "A Very Sunny Christmas" into MP4 format. It's about an hour long, but it's taking 7+ to convert it...So is there a converter that could speed this up?:confused::mad:...:D
     

    Advertisement
  2. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    11
    I just purchased Aimersoft video converter solely for my Droid movie usage. Maybe paying isn't what you're looking to do, but this is my first time purchasing conversion software, and I feel like it was worth it. It has the most profiles for mobile devices of any software I've ever used, and on my aluminum 2.4 ghz imac with 4GB of RAM it takes approximately 45 minutes to encode a 1.3GB AVI file. This is encoded at the Droid's native resolution of 720x480 with a bitrte of 1200 and AAC audio @ 168kb/sec. The software costs $40 but is well worth it. Other popular free alternatives include Handbrake for Windows / Mac.
     
  3. DaygosDankest

    DaygosDankest Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe its just my crap pc thats making it run so slow. In the settings for handbrake, I just click the iphone preset and it willat least look decent on my droid right?
     
  4. TheOldFart

    TheOldFart Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the Free Zune Video Converter a few months ago to convert to MP4 for my iRiver player. I just loaded a couple on my Droid and they play fine. I don't remember how fast it is though at converting.
     
  5. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    That aluminum must really make a big difference in speed!

    Handbrake is very slow but it works well, I just try to plan ahead with it. If you don't have time to then maybe just get a converter known for it's speed and don't bother changing the resolution as long as it is big enough for the Droid.
     
  6. DroidJnkie

    DroidJnkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    7+ hours??? What the heck? :eek:

    I'm converting District 9 right now, as we speak, and I just loaded it about 3 minutes ago. in Legacy Classic mode (I hope that turns out well, this is my first time using handbrake), and the black DOS type looking window is telling me the ETA is 1 hr and 31 minutes.

    It's a 1 hr and 45 minute movie.

    Maybe you're running other programs that are slowing it down?

    I HATE windows!!
     
  7. Telexen

    Telexen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    13
    Depends on the format you're converting from and how fast your computer is, what resolution you're using, whether you're converting audio or not...really a LOT of things. You're better off learning what is actually happening to track down why it takes so long rather than finding a point and click program to do it all and expecting it to be fast. You might find there's a way to do it that only takes 5 minutes.

    Don't bother listening to someone saying it takes them X time to convert something...it's comparing apples to monkeys. That's right, not even oranges.
     
  8. DroidJnkie

    DroidJnkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    lol

    Seriously. 1 hour, 30 minutes. That's all it should take.

    Listen. To. Me.
     
  9. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
  10. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    11
    haha, right there with ya brother.
     
  11. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41
    The Droids native resolution is actually 852x480.
     
  12. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    221
    That is true, but if you want to keep aspect ratio correct, it would need to stay at 720 if that is what the original file was encoded at.

    For handbrake...
    I was using an old workstation until I got a new mobo for my main pc.

    PC 1 (Workstation, P4 2.4 Ghz, 1 GB Ram, onboard video)
    Time : Depending on original encode 1 to 1.5 x the movie length (but certainly not 7+ hours)

    PC 2 (Gaming Machine, E6600 ES @ 2.4 (stock), 4 GB Ram, 8800 GTX (but I don't think handbrake uses Cuda for video encoding at all))
    Time : .5 to .75 x the movie length

    More information on the system being used would be helpful...
     
  13. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41

    I'd guess it would depend on your source, all anamorphic wide screen DVD's as well as any HD material would look better at 852x480 since that is the correct aspect ratio (16x9).

    I have no 4x3 source files and wouldn't want to watch them on the Droid even if I did simply because you'd be giving up a large percentage of the screen to black bars on either side.
     
  14. barry99705

    barry99705 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    20
    It makes a huge difference in speed. The white iMacs were G5 processors and the aluminum ones are intel core2 duo's. The latest aluminum iMacs can have quad core i7's. I run handbreak on my mac pro and can rip a dvd in about 20 to 30 minutes, but it's a dual quad core xenon with 16Gb of ram.
     
  15. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    DVD Catalyst 3 has native support for the Motorola Droid (852x480 with 3 choices of output quality) and seems to do a good job. It takes advantage of the multicore on my i7 and can convert a full DVD in about 30 minutes on my system. I have tried other solutions and this so far has been the best.
     
  16. MicroNix

    MicroNix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes, video conversion is one of the few things besides gaming that truly will use your multi-core machine to speed things up. Also, your disk subsystem. I run a quad core Intel machine with 4 - SATA2 drives in a raid 1/0 (hardware raid) and I can still keep them pegged on a video conversion.

    For sure if anyone is on a slightly older, single core machine, video conversion is going to hurt.
     
  17. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    I was joking at the aluminum itself making a difference, not the hardware inside. I know the difference from a plastic iMac to a aluminum one.
     
  18. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    Someone missed the joke train :p
     
  19. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    Just FYI the software you use is unlikely to have a major impact on how fast it encodes. The speed is mostly determined by the codec.

    In other words, don't blame handbrake (or whatever). Processor + RAM are paramount here.
     
  20. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Handbrake usually takes about the same length as the video itself for me, maybe a tad longer. I have a 22" HP Touchsmart IQ506 W/ a Core 2Duo T5850 @ 2.16Ghz and 4GB RAM, does that sound about right for conversion time?
     
  21. barry99705

    barry99705 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    20
    . My caffeen to blood ratio was off.... ;)
     
  22. DaygosDankest

    DaygosDankest Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    so...any tips for a non tech savvy person to speed things up
     
  23. aapocketz

    aapocketz Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    7 hours seems high, but if it is an old machine it could happen. I automate and convert TV shows, and on my core2quad it takes roughly the time of the show for conversion, though some of the work is done as the show is converting so its not too bad. This is using mencoder configured properly for multi-threads.

    Anyone have any luck with GPGPU converting programs? Like Badaboom for Nvidia or the ATI AVIVO video converter or MediaShow Espresso. I have been interested in them though last time I checked they had problems, anandtech did a review of some ATI ones last summer and they were crap AnandTech: AVIVO Video Converter Redux and ATI Stream Quick Look.
     
  24. MicroNix

    MicroNix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    37
    Processor is going to be one of the biggest things. If your computer is 2+ years old (especially if it was a budget buy), buy a new one with a Quad Core Processor, 4GB ram and a speedy hard drive. Sorry, but this question is easily answered but not cheaply answered.
     
  25. rdillz

    rdillz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    31
    I'm using a garbage PC and it just took about 45 minutes to convert a 729mb movie with Super
     

Share This Page

Loading...