MT3G to Nexus One


Last Updated:

  1. Monsignor

    Monsignor Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all-

    I am going to be transitioning from a MyTouch 3G (rooted running the Cyanogen 5.0.8 ROM) to a factory new Nexus One. I have a few questions:

    1. I have elected to have my apps loaded to my SD Card (MT3G). What issues will this cause when I install my SD Card from the MT3G into the N1?

    2. I will be using the N1 for both work and personal - all work calls will be via Google Voice and personal via my T-Mobile number (existing). Will I have to import and merge my contacts or will Google Voice keep them separate?

    3. I am assuming that all I need to do is to install my SIM and SD Card into the N1 and I'm good to go - right? Or do I need to contact T-Mobile? I bought the N1 without a plan if that helps.

    That's all for now... thank you in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Monsignor

    Monsignor Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...anyone...??
     
  3. Chroma

    Chroma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    25
    1-It shouldn't just download your backup program to your new phone and restore from the card.

    2-? I keep all my contacts synced with google contact, so I just make a group called business contacts and browse appropriately on my phone.

    3-Just pop the SIM card in, should be fine. That's why I've stayed on GSM technology, swap and talk:D
     
    Monsignor likes this.
  4. Monsignor

    Monsignor Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK thanks... so you're saying that all of my apps should appear in my N1 off of my SD Card?
     
  5. Chroma

    Chroma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yep, just download your backup program, from the market, to your new phone and restore from the card. Same operating systems.
     
  6. Monsignor

    Monsignor Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK you just clarified it for me.. I was wondering if I needed to go to the Market for the programs or if it would be a 100% restore of the programs and data files from the SD Card.
     
  7. Chroma

    Chroma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ya, it bugs me too. You need to be able to browse the card to get to your backed up apps and Android does not provide access to the card fresh out of the box.
     
  8. Monsignor

    Monsignor Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I would think that after downloading the apps from the market the programs would check the SD card for the data files? I know a few apps do this for sure...
     
  9. Chroma

    Chroma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    25
    That is true, I have Aura that keeps a data folder on my card and I can delete the app, re download it from the market fresh again, and I'll will re associate with the info on the card.

    If you have a backup app, and wipe your phone, reinstall the backup app from the market, and start the backup app, It'll see the data it left on the card (including the app backups) and allow you to restore them.
     
  10. Monsignor

    Monsignor Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this in the Market...?
     
  11. Chroma

    Chroma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    25
    Aura? Do you play Eve Online? (a MMO) Yes, its in the market, but its a Eve Online character manager.

    I use Astro File Manager for my backup utility
     

Share This Page

Loading...