Multi Language Dictionary


Last Updated:

  1. brianstewey

    brianstewey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guys
    Does anyone know how I can enable one or more languages other than my default(English). i.e I have need to type some messages in German, this is no problem with an English keyboard but the dictionary auto-corrects it to an English word. I am sure I could disable auto-correct but I would rather not.
    Cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    Welcome to the forum! :D

    Best tip I can give is:
    - either install a second input method, configure that to use a German dictionary, and switch input methods when you need to switch languages; or
    - install another input method that allows you to switch between dictionaries.

    :eek: Not that it helps you, but as an example: I'm using Scandinavian Keyboard, with which I can swipe sideways to switch between Danish and English layouts and dictionaries. Unfortunately (but obviously), it doesn't support German.
     
    brianstewey likes this.
  3. brianstewey

    brianstewey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers K

    Tell me how did you set this up ?
     
  4. Hilikus

    Hilikus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm looking for exactly the same thing
    did anyone find a solution for this?
    i type some times in eng, some times in spanish and the autocompletion kills me in ESP, but i really like it in eng

    btw, is the really accurate error correction something built-in the keyboard program? i mean, if i use a different input method will it need its own autocompletion mechanism? or this is something modular where the autocompletion is done by a module that's just really good at it?

    i'm using HTC sense on 2.1 if it helps

    thanks
     
  5. Harry2

    Harry2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    Try SmartKeyboard Pro. There is a key for changing between the languages.

    Harry

    Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
     
  6. kheopsb

    kheopsb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    my problem is that I'd like to keep the QWERTY keyboard that I'm comfortable with, but have the Android OS support multiple language dictionaries. does anyone know how to do that?
    I speak 4 languages, but only need 1 keyboard... anyone know how?
     

Share This Page

Loading...