Multi touch on Droid-from Milestone


Last Updated:

  1. chuk1005

    chuk1005 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Multi-touch on the Droid....taken from the milestone ROM

    Motorola Milestone firmware coaxed into Droid, multitouch ensues (video!) -- Engadget

    Engadget-

    "If you thought it'd be easy to move code back and forth between two nearly-identical Motorolas running Android... well, you'd apparently be right. Unfortunately, taking clear video of the completed task proves, as ever, to be an insurmountable task. Of course, the Android hacking community has overcome pretty much every other roadblock it's encountered so far, so it shouldn't come as any surprise to learn that the Milestone's firmware has been successfully ported today over to its big, loud American cousin, the Droid, thanks to the work of AllDroid's Eugene and Barakinflorida who risked their own device for your gain. Our understanding is that the ROM's cooked in some regard -- it's not bone stock, which makes sense if for no other reason than the fact that the Droid's got a completely different radio -- but fortunately, that all-important multitouch support carries over from the Euro side. We're hearing direct from AllDroid's founder, Brent Fishman, that the ROM should drop in a couple of days. Until then, follow the break for a video of the build in action.

    P.S. Don't worry Droid owners, Google Navigation is still functional with this build."

    YouTube - VIDEO0002
     

    Advertisement
  2. itsgreg

    itsgreg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what we've been waiting for! I hope it's an easy process to install it onto our Droids, without complications.
     
  3. Silverwing

    Silverwing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Somebody should make an APP out of this. Stupid Apple and their BS intellectual property....
     
  4. chuk1005

    chuk1005 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes me too, hopefully just a few more days and we will know.
     
  5. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    38
    Does anyone know if the milestone has multi-touch keyboard? I really really want one.

    But regardless I can't wait for this ROM.
     
  6. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    Does anyone know if this enables pinch zoom in Google Maps?
     
  7. gotwillk

    gotwillk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    12
    milestone has full multitouch functionality, i believe.
     
  8. chuk1005

    chuk1005 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are correct it does, they have taken the multi-touch functionality from the Milestone and are creating a ROM for the Droid.
     
  9. chuk1005

    chuk1005 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0

    Im not sure but I believe this will enable multi touch system wide...(my guess)
     
  10. N2o

    N2o Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Call me stupid but... the droid already supports multi touch... and the stock apps made by google just don't take advantage of it. Right?
     
  11. chuk1005

    chuk1005 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0

    You are correct but the milestones native(stock) apps take advantage of it where as the Droid's dont, so thats the benefit of this ROM
     
  12. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    As I understand it individual apps have to be specifically coded to take advantage of it. So the question is whether there's a 'Euro' version of Maps that runs on the Milestone?
     
  13. rhyno

    rhyno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sorry for my ignorance here, but will use of this ROM require rooting?
     
  14. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    Most definitely.
     
  15. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    You will need to root your Droid AND have a custom recovery like SirPsychoS' which can be found at Sholes . Anyone who is going to do this needs to make sure they read everything carefully and be sure you understand what your doing before you get into it. You probably can't permanently brick your Droid but you could mess things up badly enough that it will be stuck in a boot loop.
     
  16. PetiePal

    PetiePal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    43
    [FONT=&quot]"If you thought it'd be easy to move code back and forth between two nearly-identical Motorolas running Android... well, you'd apparently be right. Unfortunately, taking clear video of the completed task proves, as ever, to be an insurmountable task. Of course, the Android hacking community has overcome pretty much every other roadblock it's encountered so far, so it shouldn't come as any surprise to learn that the Milestone's firmware has been successfully ported today over to its big, loud American cousin, the Droid, thanks to the work of [FONT=&quot]AllDroid's [/FONT]Eugene and Barakinflorida who risked their own device for your gain. Our understanding is that the ROM's cooked in some regard -- it's not bone stock, which makes sense if for no other reason than the fact that the Droid's got a completely different radio -- but fortunately, that all-important multitouch support carries over from the Euro side. We're hearing direct from [FONT=&quot]AllDroid[/FONT]'s founder, Brent Fishman, that the ROM should drop in a couple of days. Until then, follow the break for a video of the build in action.

    P.S. Don't worry Droid owners, Google Navigation is still functional with this build.

    [FONT=&quot]Update[/FONT]: Better video added after the break! Man, these guys learn fast.[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]Continue reading [FONT=&quot]Motorola Milestone firmware coaxed into Droid, multitouch [/FONT][FONT=&quot]ensues (video!)"[/FONT][/FONT]


    Well...can't be long now before they're forced to pretty much incorporate!
    [FONT=&quot][FONT=&quot][/FONT][/FONT]
     
  17. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    Delicious. I'd like it as a patch as opposed to an OS replacement.
     
  18. chuk1005

    chuk1005 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. jmccarthy14

    jmccarthy14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    3
    So uhm.

    If someone with 2.0.1 is able to install a 2.1 apk of the SenseUI keyboard (which runs but errors saying 'not an htc device'), why would they need to root to run a 2.0.1 apk of the droid keyboard?

    Not sure why we can't just take the multi-touch enabled apps we want...

    I know its possible there may be a reason, but everyone seems so sure it will take a whole ROM.
     
  20. lvlln

    lvlln Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    10
    Someone already tried putting the apps from Milestone onto the Droid. But they found that it didn't work, because it relied on some system files for multitouch. That's why a root and a ROM would be required.
     
  21. jmccarthy14

    jmccarthy14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    3
    There's the reasoning, thank you.
     
  22. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    So aside from adding multitouch to the stock browser and stock gallery app, what other apps are affected? Anything? Seems like that's it. And if that's the case...well I guess I don't see that it's worth the hassle to put this on my Droid. I've already got multitouch in my gallery app, and there are a couple different multitouch browsers on the Market. Soooo what am I missing?
     
  23. clos1084

    clos1084 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    8
    Multitouch keyboard
     

Share This Page

Loading...