Multitasking


Last Updated:

  1. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Why do I have such a problem multitasking on the hero? Is there a tutorial on this? Every time I jump out of the web browser to my home page, then back to web browser I have to start all over again. I
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Press and hold the home button and go to the app that you want (of the last 6 used)
     
  3. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5

    Will that take me back to the same web page?
     
  4. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yes, it does. If you're opening the browser up and it's going back to the start-up page, that means you closed the browser by hitting the back button, or it was closed due to resources.


    If you use the HOLD MENU option, it should open back to the previous page more consistently.


    Good luck.
     
    NYCHitman1 and marshall518 like this.
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Yes, just don't hit the back button!
     
    marshall518 likes this.
  6. marshall518

    marshall518 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wow it was something that easy. Still learning something new about this phone every day! Thanks Guys!
     
  7. spaziod

    spaziod Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Even so it does not seem to truly multitask like the blackberry. For example... I cannot stream media and surf web at same time.... something the bb excelled at... is there a way to force single tasking to save resources?
     
  8. regression

    regression Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    I just tested this and it works for me. I started up my Slacker app and started listening to music. Then I hit the home key and opened the stock browser. I was able to get to webpages.....

    What steps are you going through to play music and surf at the same time?
     
  9. nbenn06

    nbenn06 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I believe just do not hit the back button. Use the home key. The blackberry the back button did not close the app. For the hero the back button closes the app. I went from the blackberry curve 8330 to the hero and it takes a couple days getting use to.
     
  10. bbrosen

    bbrosen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    31
    Same here but i used an iphone and could multitask very well, music stream and web Browse and navigation too, in any combination, my hero cannot it just dies on the spot. Any ideas? Been working on this problem for about 3 months.
     
  11. t1jordan

    t1jordan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    22
    try using wifi. other than that i think it has something to do with are network. I can make a call and surf the web on wifi. so try that.
     
    toomuchgame441 likes this.
  12. spaziod

    spaziod Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Google labs listen and web did not work....but is now...listening while surfing....maybe Google updated? Thx!
     
  13. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    Whoooooaaa... really? This I have to try.
     
  14. smi77y

    smi77y Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm curious about this subject too. I just switched from the pre, and I listen to podcasts via clicking "download" links in a web browser, then it proceeds to open the video player. But if I try to go to the home page or turn off the screen, the audio pauses and stops. Is there no way to multitask audio streams in this manner? This is one thing I use a lot at work and it would be nice to just have it play audio through the browser or some other way so I can multitask. Thanks in advance.
     
  15. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    Why don't you just use Google Listen...
     
  16. smi77y

    smi77y Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll check into that. Thank you.
     
  17. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    How were you streaming music and browsing at the same time on an iPhone? Unless you meant you were playing music with the stock music player.
     
  18. smi77y

    smi77y Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The google listen will work for some things. But I listen to not so popular podcasts that can only be accessed via the webpage. Any other ideas? Or is this something I'll have to deal with?
     
  19. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    You can enter the feed address into Google reader (on your pc) and create a subscription for it. One subscribed make it a "Listen Subscription" and Google will sync it to your phone (takes a couple seconds)
     
  20. spaziod

    spaziod Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    was just now streaming "through the web browser" and as soon as changed to another app it stops.... when streaming with listen... I can do anything else on the machine... guess just did not know that could not stream through browser AND do other things.. my bad...
     
  21. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    LOL! I had no idea by holding the HOME button a window popped up for the 6 most recent apps open. +1!
     
  22. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    There are many menu surprises in the Hero. Long press often and even try the menu too, there are options here and there that go a long way to flavorizing the Hero.

    lol...
     

Share This Page

Loading...