Music keeps skippingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. 2 Phonez

    2 Phonez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    10
    I've seen this issue on a few different Android devices when I did a search but no real solutions and nothing for the N7 specifically.

    My N7 music playback keeps skipping. This happens whether the screen is off or on, whether it's through headphones or the speaker, whatever. I'm just using the stock Google Music app to play standard MP3s, I have no problem playing these same files on my laptop or my iPhone.

    If I leave it for about 10 minutes the playback seems to be fine but it's still an irritating issue I shouldn't have to put up with and when I go back to listen to music later on the same thing will happen again.

    Any idea what it could be? I don't have any CPU power saving apps installed or anything like that so I have no idea.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Groid

    Groid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    88
    Are you streaming the mp3's that you uploaded to Google Music or are the songs playing from the N7 storage? I don't have any issues when choosing 'on device music'.
     
  3. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    Have you tried another app to play music?
     
  4. 2 Phonez

    2 Phonez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's coming from local storage, I don't stream any of my music.

    Not yet, I'll do that later and see what happens. Got any recommendations?
     
  5. valorian

    valorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    498
    I use WinAmp on my N7 and have no skipping issues using it.
     
  6. 2 Phonez

    2 Phonez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    10
    Currently playing some music through Cubed and the skipping issue persists.
     
  7. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    I use Power Amp. The only time I had skipping was before the new update when BT and WiFi were running at the same time. Is this the case for you? Are you using Bluetooth?
     
  8. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6,420
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    Well if you rooted give it some power if it isnt maxed out and maybe use a speed kernel if one is available
     
  9. 2 Phonez

    2 Phonez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    10
    Nope.

    It's not running slowly though, I don't think it's a case of there not being enough power. And are you really saying I need to overclock just to be able to play music?
     
  10. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6,420
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    Sometimes u need to depends on the app and whats in the rom get set cpu and see where u are
     
  11. 2 Phonez

    2 Phonez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm using the stock ROM with the stock music player. The issue also persists with other music players but not with YouTube videos, which leads me to believe there is an issue with the software somewhere. But it's literally stock Android.
     
  12. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6,420
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    How about clear cache and data from app and see if it still happen
     
  13. 2 Phonez

    2 Phonez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just to update, it seems like VLC doesn't have the issue, so I'm just using that instead. I think it's because VLC uses its own music database and codecs whereas the rest are just a frontend for the built-in ones. Either way it works and it's a nice simple UI so I'm happy. I do wish the default app would work without skipping though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...