Music problem with downloaded filesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Mr.DNA

    Mr.DNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    When I try to play mp3 files that I have downladed directly to my phone the default music player cannot seem to play them when other applications (like Browser) are running. Music simply quits when I switch to another open application. I do not have this problem with music I have manually transferred to the phone, and the only difference that I can identify between them is the location of the files: downloads on the internal sd and others on the external. Is there any reason why the file location should be an issue?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    i suppose the browser might cache some info about it's downloads (identified by that specific folder) when it's started, causing the files to become unreadable by the music player (just a wild guess)

    in any case, isn't the problem easily solved by moving the files to the external sd (or a different directory?) with any file manager?
     
  3. Mr.DNA

    Mr.DNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    Agreed that moving the files should fix it. Unfortunately for some other reason I am unclear on I cannot seem to move the files from the download folder. I have tried using Ghost Commander and OI File Manager, and both report that they are unable to move those files.
     
  4. briany

    briany Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have a computer cable for the phone, right? I would plug the Galaxy in to the computer and mount the SD card. You should then be able to view the files from your computer and move them to a different location.
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    if you are moving files dont you need root and busybox installed?
     
  6. Mr.DNA

    Mr.DNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ugh, do I? I don't think I am ready to root the phone yet.
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    i think so but only if you are using a file manager installed on the phone to move/copy files though
    you dont need root for pc file move obviously
     

Share This Page

Loading...