1. HUGE Androidforums.com UPDATE! Learn what's new (and download the new app!)
    Dismiss Notice

Mxq remote pairSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Tp123

    Tp123 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    I'm a little confused about pairing my mxq remote (default remote with a clear power button on the top right) to my tv using the buttons under the "TV control" section on the remote. I have Googled this issue 10000 times and tried following instructions stating to hold down the clear power button until the light turns solid red. I have held down that power button for like 2 minutes and the red light continuously blinks and never goes solid. Same thing goes for the set button, never turns solid red.

    Any ideas about where I am going wrong? I don't think it's a defective remote, it works fine with my mxq box, just not the tv....
     

    Advertisement
  2. Andrew Cole

    Andrew Cole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    130
    Pair the volume up and volume down buttons when the remote rapid flashes red... NOT solid red.

    That's what worked for me.
    Also, the only two buttons I could program were the 1st and 4th buttons.
    (Worked out well: I just wanted the TV volume control on my Android box remote.) :)

    When the Android remote is rapid flashing red point the remotes toward each other and press the volume down button on the TV with the first gray button on the Android TV box remote.

    When the Android remote is rapid flashing red point the remotes toward each other and press the volume up button on the TV with the fourth gray button on the Android TV box remote.

    I never did manage to get any other buttons to pair up. :(

    Let us know how you get on.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2016
    #2
  3. Tp123

    Tp123 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a quick question, what button do you hold to make remote control flash red?

    Is it the clear (greyish) power button at the top right of the remote, or do you hold the button that you're trying to pair to TV (i.e the volume down button on the mbox remote)
     
  4. Andrew Cole

    Andrew Cole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    130
    Hold down the gray button on the remote for a few seconds, until the rapidly flashing LED slows down a little.

    Now press the button on the other TV remote that you want to teach the remote to mimic.

    Next press the Box remote button that you want to assign the taught function to.

    When the gray button times out (stops flashing) the process is complete.
     
  5. Tp123

    Tp123 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't seem to work, but before I give up, I just have one more question.

    So, when you hold down the grey button on the MBOX remote for a few seconds, then push the button on the TV remote, and, finally, the corresponding button on the MBOX remote, do I keep the grey button held down throughout this entire process?

    For example, I am trying to pair the volume up button. So I start with holding the grey button for like 40 seconds. Then, with the grey button held down still, I align the remotes together, press the volume up button on the tv remote, release the grey button on the MBOX remote, then press the volume + button the box remote (under TV Control section). Note that when I release the grey button on the box remote, the red light immediately stops blinking. I'm sure I probably did something wrong.

    Thanks again for all of your help.
     
  6. Andrew Cole

    Andrew Cole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    130
    Do not hold down the gray button once the slow red blinking starts.
    Hold the gray button in for about five seconds.
    Then match the two remotes. You may have to repeatedly press the buttons.

    It took me loads of tries to do it.
     
  7. CadenC

    CadenC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have the same problem with my remote. Did you find a fix?

    The problem is that the blinking never slows when holding the power button. It seems it is not entering pairing mode.
     
  8. Joven_ts

    Joven_ts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same issue here
     
  9. Andrew Cole

    Andrew Cole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    130
    Why are you waiting for the button to slow down?
    Where did you read that this was part of the process?
     
  10. Joven_ts

    Joven_ts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    For me, holding down the grey power button causes it to flash rapidly but once released it turns off. I've tried holding down for 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 20 seconds, 60 seconds, 120 seconds.. etc
     
  11. Andrew Cole

    Andrew Cole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    130
    I suspect that different remotes have different colored buttons!

    When I have time, I'll do a pictorial guide on how to reprogram the four buttons on the Android TV remote and start a new thread.
     
  12. Joven_ts

    Joven_ts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    For reference, this is the remote I have. (and to note, I've tried holding down both the grey power button and the SET button)
    [​IMG]
     
    Andrew Cole likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...