My 100% awake issue fixedSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Blaznlow

    Blaznlow Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    I spoke with Level 2 Tech Support about a week ago about my awake time being 100% and what they did for me was deactivate my line and made me activate using my phone (ex:pushing the ##123456# and entering the numbers what so ever) and then my phone re booted two times automatically. then i had to sign back into my Gmail account and then put the phone asleep(end button) then i checked my status and my awake time went down :eek:.

    they also had me enter the ##123456# bs again for my internet and i had to erase something called "secret internet sharing" and the phone rebooted once again.

    I waited one week to confirm that this had fixed my awake issue. i called last friday to be exact and wanted to give it a couple of days before i shared this info. so for me it did fix my 100% awake issue hope this info will help the rest of you guys trying to fix your issue.

    my current awake time is 7% after it being 100% for a couple of weeks

    keep in mind that i am not claiming this to be an official fix cause i only had this issue with my phone cause my GF's phone did not have the awake issue after the update
     

    Advertisement
  2. bigdroid

    bigdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Likes Received:
    132
    So do you remember exactly what you did again?
     
  3. Blaznlow

    Blaznlow Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    i do not remember the exact numbers i typed in, you will need the sprint rep anyways cause they have to give you your msid # i think thats what its called
     
  4. mv520

    mv520 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    HTC Hero Programming / Activation Walkthrough Inside Sprint Now


    Manual Programming Steps: To be used only if Switch Query Tables Shows Complete Error or when Launching the Web browser fails:
    • If Hands Free OMA/DM and One Touch were unsuccessful, have the customer perform the following manual programming steps on the phone:

    1. Look up the 6-digit Master Subsidy Lock (MSL) code in CSM.
      1. Open the Manual Programming screen in CSM.
      2. From the Profile tab, click Page Options.
      3. Click Manual Device Programming.
      4. Click Master Subsidy Lock tiny button to view MSL code.
    2. Press the Left Phone Key to bring up the Dial Pad. Press ## followed by the 6-digit Master Subsidy Lock (MSL) code, followed by an additional #.

      • Example: ##123456#.
        • The last # entered will not show on the display.
      • The Service Program screen will be displayed, highlighted on View.
      • Important Notes:
        • Handle the MSL with extreme caution.
        • When it must be shared with the customer, refer to it as a six-digit number instead of MSL.
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    1. Tap Edit Mode.
    [​IMG]

    1. Tap on Mobile Directory Number (MDN) to select it.
    [​IMG]

    1. Tap on Number and using the Virtual keyboard type the 10-digit MDN. Then Tap OK
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    1. Tap on the MSID to select it.
    [​IMG]

    1. Tap on Number and using the Virtual keyboard type the 10-digit MSID. Then Tap OK
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    1. With the correct MDN and MSID entered, Press the Menu key and Tap on Commit Modifications.
    [​IMG]

    1. The prompt will appear verifying update. Tap on OK or the device will reset automatically.
    [​IMG]
    All Done
     
  5. Blaznlow

    Blaznlow Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    thank you for adding that helpful info, i honestly was trying to type in everything on my comp while i was doing it but i forgot the most important info apparently lol
     
  6. fivebass52

    fivebass52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    In the interests of science and longer battery life, I'm going to call tech support and see if I can get the same results. Thanks for another angle on improving battery life!
     
  7. Spunkzz

    Spunkzz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    please update this thread if the fix still works on your phone. thanks
     
  8. boxermansr

    boxermansr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    13
    I tried this the other day, and so far, its working. I changed my MDN and my MSID to all zeros (you can change it to anything really), let the device reset. Then I went in and changed all the info back to mine (my MSID and MDN) and let it reset. The let it sit for awhile and it's been sleeping fine since.

    As of a few minutes ago, I'm at 39 hours 32 mins uptime total, with a wake time of 2 hours 51 minutes, which is 7%, with using this fix.

    Device has been on charger for about 90 minutes and has continued to sleep (I've been checking every 10-15 minutes). This is the longest I've went with it sleeping with the NEW rom. My longest was just over 50 hours with the old ROM so we'll see if I can get through another day.

    For those who its either not working for, or it stops working (which I'm sure at some point or another is going to end up being me too), I don't know what's going on. Seems this phones a big mystery, because even out of the box it sleeps for some, and not for others too.
     
  9. mkdauff

    mkdauff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    What are the chances of this actually working? Can anyone from Sprint tell us if the above information is correct? Or should we just call and talk to customer service ourselves and try to get this done...
     
  10. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    The 7% uptime is crazy, wonderful and good. I have a question though which is directly associated with your battery life. During those 50 hours... how much was the phone used? What apps? Widgets? Etc.

    Just curious... I get pretty good performance and have no sleep or battery issues but that is amazing news.
    :)

    Thanks
     
  11. boxermansr

    boxermansr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    13

    I didn't have a solid 50 hour usage/standby time. I got a good day, sometimes a little more out of it. Generally just using the phone, surfing the web a little. Played a few rounds of mmafia, other than that, nothing too exciting. Most of the time I try to let the phone die and then charge it, but I want to see how long of an actual uptime I can keep before (if at all) the wake time stops working correctly again.
     
  12. Spunkzz

    Spunkzz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    just tried this and its working. hopefully it'll stay this way. i've been plagued with 100% awake time for a while now. this is a good alternative to doing a hard reset since you dont lose any of your data.
     
  13. mkdauff

    mkdauff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you do what was listed above?
     
  14. heimy25

    heimy25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did this and it worked for about 19 hours, then my phone went back to 100%. I did the fix again this morning. Probably will go back to 100% awake again but at least in the meantime the battery should be MUCH better. It was great while it wasn't at 100% before
     
  15. doeboy

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I need to have signal to do this? I am in Japan on buisness and am on airplane mode. My battery awake time is at 75%. Also the numbers that pop up that you change, is that the ones I re-enter? Or are they located on the back panel?
     
  16. jlaw904

    jlaw904 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately I just tried the same thing by calling sprint and doing the same thing, but still at 100% awake.

    *EDIT* Just tried it again and it worked! What I did this time was hit the end key to put it asleep right after I changed the MDN and MSID to all 0's. Then I checked and saw it actually slept so I reprogrammed it again and it's actually sleeping now! This is the first time I've seen it at anything under 100%, hopefully it stays working.
     
  17. Blaznlow

    Blaznlow Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    im glad to see this is working for everyone. i hope it solves your issue i honestly believe the issue is with gmail we have to use with the android market. cause when they deactivated my phone my awake time started going down.

    i still have not had any issues what so ever with my awake time and my battery is lasting me 1.5 days almost

    the apps i have is

    Bank Of America
    Ringdriod
    Shazam
    Shopsavy
    Myspace
    Handcent
    Sports Tap

    i have not disabled anything. still have my HTC clock and weather , GPS satellites enabled,Mobile network and all that good stuff and i avg about 150 txt a day with about 1.5 hrs of talk with emails being pushed as well.

    my current up time is 267:50:17, awake % 13 since OP
     
  18. Spunkzz

    Spunkzz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    phone went back to being awake. damn thought we actually found a solution here.
     
  19. egomaster

    egomaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    This did not work for me. I tried it 6 times. All zeros, pushing end, re-entering the correct codes. Nothing. 100% awake since day one. Any Ideas?
     
  20. heimy25

    heimy25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you actually hit end after putting in all zeros? You're supposed to press menu->submit changes, then it will reboot the phone after 10 seconds or tell you to press ok to reboot the phone.
     
  21. egomaster

    egomaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I did press menu-> submit changes and reset. Then pushed end. Waited 5 minutes, re-entered the the correct codes and nothing.

    ##Update## I got it to work. Now I am having a problem with my internet shutting off and not turn back on unless I restart the phone. Any ideas?
     
  22. fivebass52

    fivebass52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Where on the phone do I find the MDN AND MSID numbers, or do I have to call Sprint for those? Also, I tried to get the MSL code through CSM, as suggested by mv520 above, but wasn't opening the proper screen. How do I get there?
     
  23. jlaw904

    jlaw904 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it was working for a few hours, then after about 5-6 hours of use, I saw it going back up again until it was almost 100% again in the morning. Tried doing this trick 3 more times and can't get it to sleep again. It got my hopes up. I don't know what the deal is with this thing...
     
  24. mv520

    mv520 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is what i would do, and this is what i did.

    1. android market place. download myback up
    2. back up the important things you want to your sd card, besides settings.
    3. install new firmware update, profile, and prl file.
    4. do a hard reset , everything will be deleted
    5. check for updates just in case.
    6. check to see how your phone acts
    7. redownload myback up from market and restore sms, etc.


    i did that and it runs better. good luck
     
  25. mrivory

    mrivory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked for me. In doing so it deleted my Google password from the market. It appears that what was locking my phone into awake was this!

    Now I don't need these extra batteries anymore... the phone lasts all day!

    However, now, I do have to look at the annoying notification saying thay I need to enter my pswd.
     

Share This Page

Loading...