My 8Gb Transcend class 6 is slowing down the phone


Last Updated:

  1. chris4chelsea

    chris4chelsea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have recently bought a Transcend 8GB class6 but I have noticed that the phone generally behaved slower as compare to the time when i was using the stock SD. One possible reason maybe i have been installing more apps than previously... can some expert tell me how i can check my phone mem availability? from what i understand, the more apps i installed the less mem will be ava for running apps so in turn slowing the phone.

    BUT one very noticeable lag i found is the music app! when the music app changes title during normal playback, most of the time for sure each song will lag (jitter) during the first 5secs. there r no problem with the mp3s coz i have been listening to them on itunes and other portable players!!

    can anyone give me any suggestion / advise. i love the phone, but this issue is currently bugging me!

    and will the performance improve if i root the phone? and can anyone suggest if there is another music player that i can use to test instead of the default one?

    tks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Install and use Taskiller (or similar) from the market and use this if you are not already to close apps you are not using.
     
  3. Jason71

    Jason71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    24
    Where did you get your SD card from? it could be fake or faulty. Try another one or go back to the original to confirm that this really is the problem
     
  4. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Mine works fine no slow down.
     
  5. killtheaquitted

    killtheaquitted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    please don't say that, I ordered that card from newegg and should be getting it today!
     
  6. rdelfin

    rdelfin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also got mine from NewEgg (16GB), class 6, same brand and has worked seamlessly, so no worries.
     
  7. chris4chelsea

    chris4chelsea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    I m currently using MixZing for music playing instead of using default player. it has improved the situation very much... no more music lag or at least alot better than the default player...
     
  8. bourdagespl

    bourdagespl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    TY!! I was looking for an application exactly like MixZing!

    Really nice!
     
  9. chris4chelsea

    chris4chelsea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    bourdagespl... dont forget to use the widget that comes with it... the song details and thumbnails get updated instantly unlike the default one which has a super long delay!!
     
  10. android604

    android604 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    one of the first things i tried today when i picked up my hero, was tried to install my 8gb mini sd card from my old bb storm, the hero couldnt reconize it or something? is this because it may not be a "class 6" sd card? how do you tell?:confused:
     
  11. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    It's probably because you didn't unmount the first card that was in it. Sometimes it wont recognize the card automatically, and you will have to go into the settings and mount it manually.

    Any microSD card should work in the Hero, regardless of its class, whether it be class 2, 4, or 6 (or even the fake class 10 which I'm sure will reach microSD formfactor before long).
     
  12. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    I bought an 8gig a while back which made the phone hang after a week or so.

    It won't even re-format now.

    Almost got the phone swapped when it happened - only took the card out on a whim, then phone woke up again.

    Wouldn't have known otherwise.
     
  13. android604

    android604 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea i dunno, how would you manually mount? its coming up on the notifications bar saying "the sd card is blank or using unsupported.."
     
  14. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Menu-Settings-SD card & storage
     
  15. android604

    android604 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea there is only the "unmount" for safe removal of the sd card..:p
     
  16. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    So did you try unmounting and then remounting it? If that doesn't work then you'll probably have to reformat it via the Hero.
     
  17. android604

    android604 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea i know it sounds simple, all i did was "unmount" the stock sd 2gb card, removed it, replaced it with an identicle mini sd card but 8gb, it tried to read it but there is an issue, so yea there is no function that says "mount" sd of any kind, i also tried formating the sd card via hero...no luck
     
  18. franners

    franners Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a 8Gb Transcend class 6 for a ten spot on Ebay and the same happened. Send it back and bought a more expensive one from a mainstream supplier and fine now.
     
  19. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    If you have access to a card reader you could try formating it (FAT32) via PC. I've never used a BB so I don't know if it prepares cards in some unique way or not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...