My computer reboots every two hours.

Last Updated:

1. JAL

JAL Active Member This Topic's Starter

I had Windows 7 RC1 on it, and when it expired, I put Windows Vista back on it. Problem is, it still restarts every two hours, as if I was still running the expired W7.

Any ideas?

Advertisement
  2. Joe Dirt

Joe Dirt Well-Known Member

Did you do a fresh install of Vista? Format the hard drive and all?

3. JAL

I'm not completely sure. Before I put 7 on it, I formated it completely, manually, but when I put Vista back on, I used the restore .DVD, which I have never done before. I just followed the next next next.

4. Joe Dirt

Joe Dirt Well-Known Member

The best advice I can give you using what you have would be to back up anything you need to keep, Boot to the DVD and do a fresh install of Vista, format and all.

The real best advice I can give you is to buy a good copy of Windows 7 and skip Vista.

5. behemoth

behemoth Member

The restore DVD may have reformatted the W7 partition, not sure if this is HD related. For the system to be rebooiting every two hours on two different OSs, sounds like some hardware may be going bad. Could be an overheating issue, which would cause a reboot.

Have there been any beeps from the system when rebooting? If so, post your motherboard type and beep formats (1 long, 1 short, etc.) If you have more than one stick of RAM, try running on one of them for a while and see if it happens. If it does, switch sticks and try again. If it reboots on the second stick, check the CPU temp. The heatsink may need blowing out with compressed air, it could be overheating.

If the above doesn't help, we've eliminated CPU and RAM (for the most part). This could point to a bad power supply or outlet or motherboard. Plug it in to a different wall outlet and see if it happens there. Or, if you have a spare power supply to switch out, give that a go. hth.

6. SoulTerror

SoulTerror Well-Known Member