my eris broke somehow....helpGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. joshminton

    joshminton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so last night, i go to send a text, which i had been doing all night, and i get an error saying it cant be sent. i try again.and again.and again. cant send a text. so naturally, i turn off my phone and turn it back on again. when it boots back up i get all these error messages like android.phone has stopped working, etc and i have to force close like 5 windows.

    i cant call anyone. i cant text anyone. i cant get on the internet. i can though connect to wifi, but when i go to the store to download a contact backup app, it wont download.

    so my problem is this : im going to factory reset my phone, but i wanna save all my contacts. i have app brain so im good there. is there anyway to download a contact backup app via my computer so i can transfer it to my phone via USB?

    any help would be much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    I'm wondering about a task killer gone mad. Have any of those installed on your phone? If so see if you can get control of the phone long enough to deleted them. Also there is a setting in Spare Parts (I think) that could cause that.
     
  3. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    90
    did you recently install an app? can you make a call? If you install "too" many apps on 1.5 you hit a OS threshold that kills all network/voice/3G data. this bug has been fixed in 2.1

    I've hit this threshold at least 5 times when I was on 1.5, I love trying new apps out. But 2.1 gives you more space to actually use! :)

    You dont have to backup your contacts, they get backed up to your google account. I've never had to backup contacts manually, assuming you always add contacts to the Google account, and not just your phone.
     
  4. joshminton

    joshminton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive been using a task killer since i got my phone a couple months ago, i dont think its that. ive been using spare parts for a couple weeks and never had any problems with it either.

    this realy just came out of nowhere
     
  5. AudiDan

    AudiDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    Josh did you pull the battery? Had this happen only once and the phone just froze, pulled the battery and perfect phone back.
     
  6. joshminton

    joshminton Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok... weird i uninstalled a couple apps. some memory cleaner thing and spare parts, and couple games i installled recently and then restarted my phone and now its fine again....
     
  7. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Well, not really so weird... :)
    Glad you got your phone working again without having to do a factory reset.
     
  8. AudiDan

    AudiDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    Great! Glad you have your phone back. I did uninstall spare parts (while still on 1.5) and it did seem to clear up some issues for me.
     
  9. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    Too many apps can cause force close errors. It's not the number of apps, but rather the amount of memory left over. If I have less than 20MB of memory left, my phone becomes a bit laggy. Under 17MB and the phone quits working.
     

Share This Page

Loading...