My "HTC Sense-home" restarts alot. Anyone else?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Brent Pierce

    Brent Pierce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    69
    My home screen restarts by itself all the time. Very annoying, when I unlock the phone and have to wait about 20-30 seconds for the icons and widgets to load. I get the white screen with the text "HTC." Then the background loads, then the icons/widgets. Until it's all loaded, I can't move or control anything.

    It's happened since the beginning. I just installed "WidgetLocker" yesterday, and now it happens about every hour. I'm wondering if Sense is somehow going to sleep, and then restarting when I wake it up.

    I'm just wondering if anyone else has this problem, or if anyone has a solution.

    Some notable apps that may be causing problem:
    Locale
    Quickdesk
    WidgetLocker
     

    Advertisement
  2. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    I would try a soft reset and then maybe a hard one. Also, are you using a taskiller....that could be causing your problem. Also uninstall your suspicious apps and see how that goes. If none of that works, take the phone back...it should not be doing that!
     
  3. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Task Killers are pretty notorious for killing sense in the background.
     
  4. suedinaz

    suedinaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    7
    Mine has been doing the same thing, but usually when I'm backing out of a website. It's only been doing it since I installed Froyo. I don't have any task killers or any AntiVirus apps installed. Only one new app since Froyo, and that was the Google Voice Search app installed just yesterday, so it's definitely not the culprit.
     
  5. Brent Pierce

    Brent Pierce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hm, it just restarted again when I turned it on to check this forum.
    I don't have any task killers, never have. I DO keep GPS on all the time. I've heard that that causes some phone restarts to occur.
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
  7. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    I know when I manually kill a built in Sense task like Clock Widget (it is the first one on the application manager list I kill every time) it causes the white and green HTC splash screen every time I back out to home. Like Sikclown was saying, maybe you have a task manager that is repeatedly killing a task like this that is causing the splash screen to appear and re-appear. Or maybe Widget Locker is interfering with the Sense default widgets somehow and causes the splash screen.

    I'm not familiar with it but QuickDesk looks to have some kind of issues with Sense/Evo. I'm reading some comments on the creators website and he says that he doesn't have an Evo, he designed it on a N1. Double tapping the home key causes problems with Sense and specifying a default launcher causes some bugs or something.
     
  8. Crodley

    Crodley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    67
    This was also happening to me a lot lately, and I figured out what the culprit was for me.

    I had filled one home screen with the 7 Multicon Widgets (which is a neat widget to put 4 small app icons in the place of one regular sized one) when I deleted those Multicons from that home screen, it never showed the HTC "boot" screen or the "loading" splash screen either.

    It's too bad because I liked that widget, but it surely slowed down my system.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  9. lamboh

    lamboh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    25
    I had the same problem.....re flash your rom but do a complete data and cache wipe and davlik too....fix my sense problems
     
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    I use QuickDesk - long Search key to start - without incident.
     
  11. hperry

    hperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    14
    i was also having this problem. it occurred to me that it might just be a result of android's built in multitasking engine closing sense because it needed the system resources to do something else. based on this logic, it would mean that the more background apps you have installed (locale, crome2phone, etc), the more likely it is to close sense. also, if you were to run a bunch of apps without returning to sense (using quickdesk or bar control), it's more likely sense will be pushed to the end of the list and closed out. obviously just a theory but after i did a hard reset and reduced the number of apps running in the background, i no longer see sense restart like it used to.

    one way to test this would be to find a way to protect sense so that the system knows never to close it. is this possible?
     
  12. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    yep i think its the fact your running out of Resources. i had the acircuit board wallpaper and one version was leaking into memory, eating up memory and precious resources. i would go to another screen or app, etc then back out or head back "home" and the htc white screen would show up and then restart up wallpaper. i was perplexed as to would could be the issue when i saw it was the wallpaper with the mem leak..

    the point here is if you are low on ram/system resources then this can occur...
     
    Brent Pierce and EarlyMon like this.
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Yes.

    Processes are categorized by their user privileges. The HTC Launcher runs as user nobody - originally intended for things like nfs in unix, but now extended to the launcher and from my understanding a very few other things such as vpn.

    User-nobody processes _should_ be immune from the normal Android housekeeping as critical services. I've attached a copy of a process snapshot I took a while ago; as I'm rooted and hateful of bundleware it's missing a few processes but it substantiates that the launcher does run as nobody.

    View attachment sample_of_stock_evo_processes.pdf

    Yeap - when processes ramble out of control, dogs sleep with cats and rain rises from the ground.

    Highly disturbing that such a resource hogging would lead to that sort of violation. The wallpaper may have other nefarious traits such as too many flags allowing system access - and could well represent an exploration into exploiting Android as malware.

    I sure wish we could create a blacklist of known apps that are not to be trusted under any circumstances. If I ever figure out a way to make those evaluations or find somebuddy who is, I'm going to be making the case for a sticky on that subject, as in pronto. (Such a thread would require _close_ moderation so as to not be the subject of evil devs casting doubts on their competitors. Slippery slope? No. While philosophies of good and evil will follow humankind to its end, right from wrong is something a child can be taught.)

    As for circuit board wallpaper - may I recommend the pictures from step 13 or 14 of HTC Evo 4G Teardown - Page 2 - iFixit

    Those are copyrighted and protected by Creative Commons license, but the owner has graciously allowed for non-commercial use (the reason I've linked to the web source rather than the image(s)); mouse-over to get a View Huge link.

    ~~~~~~~

    For whatever reason, things can get tangled and by things I mean data and by tangled I mean tangled.

    Here's what I was pointing at in Section 5 of http://androidforums.com/support-troubleshooting-evo-4g/141369-how-fix-froyo.html:

    FIX: “The Application HTC Sense (process com.htc.launcher) has stopped unexpectedly”

    It gives 2.1 instructions for how to find the data to clear out - simply go to the All tab once in app management to adapt to 2.2 - the article ends with the warning that you might have to go so far as a factory reset if the suggested method fails, and that's why I thought it best to point to the How-to thread to find that link.

    It's possible that non-uncontrolled apps (those that are not nefarious or simply suffering from the abject stoopidity that is a core leak) might only need to be untangled with factory reset rather than called out as culprits.

    Whatever's left over should be considered a culprit. I've seen cases here where WidgetLocker is indeed causing trouble for others in some ways, so if a problem persists after all else fails, maybe try there - but I'd like us to _know_ before we start slagging apps that might be innocent.

    Anyway, these are my opinions and I hope this is somehow helpful.

    Edit and PS - People suffering from random reboots have had the zygote process taken out of commission, proof that nothing is immune to an uncontrolled situation in Android. That is sometimes fixed with a factory reset, but can sometimes also require a particular GPS fix requiring Sprint's help. In other cases a reprovisioning is needed - also with Sprint's help.

    The only rule I live by in Android is that when theory and observations disagree, throw out the theory.
     
    Crodley and aburgthing like this.
  14. Crodley

    Crodley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    67
    EarlyMon,

    What a classic post is lucky #13! Deep, informative, and just a touch of Moe. (or perhaps Larry)

    Skipping over the politics of perceived nefarious apps, I'll go to the shrunken, micro-scientific method and state, FOR ME, removing my overkill on using too many Multicons has, so far, cleared up MY issues with the reincarnating Sense.

    I'll also go through the rest of the day shaking my head and smiling, thinking of seltzer shorts.
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    WhoopWhoopWhoopWhoopWhoop...whoop!

    I meant to hang a thank you on your earlier post to draw attention to it and in my mind I'd totally done that - wait! It's somehow suddenly there! Yet another mystery....
     
  16. felixmoran

    felixmoran Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, my Hero has, for the last day, been geting the
     
  17. madiom

    madiom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have found that "widget locker" doesn't play nice with some other apps. As mentioned too many resources are being used. I uninstalleed the new app (I liked widget locker better) and everything worked fine again.

    As exciting as it is to load apps on my phone I do it slowly and with purpose. I monitor each app and test it out to make sure it isn't conflicting with the stock apps or another app I've installed.

    A lot of these "help me" post have a common theme. The phone worked fine when I got it, and after loading an app on it it doesn't work correctly anymore... therefore I am going to go ask for a new phone. I provide some support on windows machines and see the same thing all of the time. Granted there may be some legitimate issues but a lot of these post seem to be user error.

    my best advice- take it nice and slow and load one app at a time.
     
  18. firesquirt

    firesquirt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem, was a bad application causing it (Screen Mode Widget); I uninstalled it and in stalled No Lock instead.

    Have not had the problem since.:D
     
  19. sw99

    sw99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just my 2 cents. Quickdesk does not play nice on my evo but only since the 2.2 update. It was so bad that i had to stop using Quickdesk (which i really miss). According to the market reviews a similar app "powerstrip" is exhibiting the same problems.

    I just started testing widget locker which is somewhat similar to see if it fares any better.
     
  20. Brent Pierce

    Brent Pierce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    69
    Yeah, I had to uninstall QuickDesk yesterday. SLOWED me down big time! Froze my phone a few times.
    Which is a shame because that was my most useful app. Maybe they'll fix it.
     
  21. AdrianMay

    AdrianMay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is all ridiculous. The launcher should be immune to resource competition. Period. :p
     
  22. searcher61

    searcher61 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Interesting...ever since the latest update I am having the same problem. Sense keeps restarting. But when I go back to the stock wallpapers...settings...personalize....HTC wallpapers, I don't have the problem. Are your wallpapers supposed to be stored in a special place?
     

Share This Page

Loading...