• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

My new Galaxy Ace

Hi guys,

Last week I bought a new Samsung Galaxy Ace. I'm new to cell phones and did not know about the new ICS Android version that came out, or that this phone isn't (officially) compatible.

I'm sad to find out that it cannot be upgraded to the newest Android 4.0, since I thought that 2.3 was the newest (I now know better).

My question is, was it a really bad mistake to get this new Galaxy Ace since it can only run Gingerbread? I cannot exchange it. Since I'm locked into a 3 year contract, will this phone become completely obsolete quickly?

I'm hoping I will still be able to get decent compatibility with it (for apps) for the next 3 years until my contact is up.

:(

You mean the first Galaxy Ace? Well, it already has several apps incompatible with it due to the low screen resolution. At best its a entry level Android phone. While its good enough for basic smartphone usage, its not really something I'd advice anyone to buy if they can afford better.

Its hardware is also very dated, its using a two year old CPU design. It won't really be able to keep up very well. But it mainly depends on your usage. My Galaxy S is still enough for my needs.

Upvote 0
Thanks for the reply.

I just want to make sure that I will be able to use the newest apps and other things with my new phone.

I talked with my provider and the store I bought it from.... I may be able to exchange this phone for a Samsung Nexus S or Sony Xperia Ray. Would that be a good one to get instead? Do you know if the hardware and CPU design is newer and if it can keep up better?

Would the Nexus S or Sony Xperia Ray be a decent choice for a new ICS compatible phone on a budget?

Upvote 0
Thanks for the reply.

I just want to make sure that I will be able to use the newest apps and other things with my new phone.