My PC antivirus found a virus on my Hero


Last Updated:

  1. iCrash

    iCrash Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I mounted my Hero to my PC just now and Eset NOD32 pops up saying it just deleted D:\game.exe and D:\Autorun.inf. So obviously it is a PC virus, but I'm thinking to myself how did it get onto my Hero? Then I remembered I used my Hero as removable storage to load Malwarebytes onto my friend's infested PC. So the moral of the story is don't mount your Hero to a computer riddled with viruses and adware and if you do make sure you have adequate virus protection on your own PCs.

    Now I'll throw a question into this... would an Android antivirus app have intercepted a virus made for a PC?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jersey221

    jersey221 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    16
    its possible that a android anti virus could pick it up...
     
  3. mkhopper

    mkhopper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    9
    If an updated list of virus definitions were loaded into an anti-virus application running on the Hero, sure, it could have flagged the files.

    What would really be optimum; An app that puts the SD card into read-only mode before mounting it to a questionable PC. I think it's possible to internally remount the SD card as read-only, but you'd need root access to do it.

    (Standard disclaimer... I take no responsibility for this... Do so at your own risk....)

    Code (Text):
    1. mount -o r,remount -t yaffs2 /sdcard
    To go back to read/write,
    Code (Text):
    1. mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /sdcard
     
  4. romeosidvicious

    romeosidvicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    58
    The SD card isn't yaffs (-t is type) if it's stock it's fat32 which is -t msdos
     
  5. mkhopper

    mkhopper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oop, yes you're correct. Was too fast in the copy/paste/reply. :eek:
     
  6. alex88

    alex88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
  8. Gamingphreek

    Gamingphreek Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's really a moot point.

    A Windows executable and an INF file are not going to be able to execute on the *nix based platform of the Hero.

    Honestly there is no need for Anti-Virus or remounting the sd-card when dealing with questionable computers that are Windows based. Now, if you suspect a Linux/OSX/*BSD based system is infected, THEN perhaps some additional layers of protection would be beneficial.
     
  9. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    3
    the idea is to not propagate the virus... My phone's SD got infected with an Autorun virus (similar to the one you have) and it then infected my wife's PC when I connected the phone to it... It was easy to clean but still a problem... Anyway, I think its not the phone fault but the PC. It should have a good Antivirus since its a Windows device...
     
  10. timkat

    timkat New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's true, you should have a good antivirus. Check it out this list of the best antivirus and choose one from there.
     
  11. K4KAI

    K4KAI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    12
    I wonder if the linked "best anti-virus" site really lists all the best ones, or only the ones that pay them a fee for listing.

    I have found that for Windows machines, the best anti-virus (for me) is "Microsoft Security Essentials" which may be downloaded, installed and maintained absolutely FREE of cost to the user.

    Give it a try, you just might like it, and it could possibly save you a few $$.

    I have absolutely no business interests with Microsoft, I am just a happy, long-time customer.
     
  12. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    That's rare.
     
    Guitardoc64 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...