My phone finally acting up!


Last Updated:

  1. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    I was one of the "few" users who wouldn't complain about the 2.1. update on their Hero and my phone was working fine, until I installed Launcher Pro. Yes, my phone become even more responsive and I was actually glad with the new home launcher. But for some reason after installing that, and even though my phone was more responsive, my phone ringtones wouldn't go off whenever I would get a text message or a call. Not even the alarm would go off and thanks to that, I've been late to work lately lol But anyway, I decided to uninstall LP and now HTC Sense launcher forcloses every time it tries to load, so my phone is sort of useless now because I can't even open any other app. I already did a soft reset, removed the battery and HTC Sense is still foreclosing. I've been thinking that the best thing to do is doing a hard reset, but is there anything else I can do to fix this without doing a hard reset to my phone? BTW, my phone has the 2.1 update, the very first one released by Sprint and hasn't been updated again after that and my phone is not rooted. Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I'd suggest hard reset... others may have more advice.
     
  3. alex51

    alex51 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    10
    You might try uninstall/reinstall lau.pro if that doesn't work,if no improvement try battery out/in,if that doesn't do it backup your stuff and do the full reset as described in the manual and let us know.
     
  4. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    @Kelmar, Thanks that's pretty much what I ended up doing

    @alex51, I tried reinstalling lau.pro, but I couldn't because the HTC Sense launcher would never finish loading. It would forclose everytime it tried to open, so I would get the message, I'd click okay, then it would automatically try to reload itself again, but I would get the forclose message again, so it wouldn't let me do anything else and I dont know if there's any other way to get into the app section or my sd card without going into the homescreen, so anyway, I ended up hard resetting my phone and HTC Sense is working again. Now I have to reinstall everything again... lol I wont be reinstalling LP though! I'm not sure if LP had to do anything with my ringtones and alarm not going off, but this problem certainly started happening after I installed LP
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    LP should not have been the root to your issues, it may have been a bad install or a corrupted file, I have LP and it is working great for the past month, I thought I would miss HTC Sense but I love LP, I would say install LP first and then install homeswitcher to allow you to switch between launchers, and you can easily set either as default at a click, once you have it working properly then you can install your other proggies


     
  6. alex51

    alex51 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    10
    I agree with Donb,because I know a few people that have/use LP and like it.I had LP prior to hard reset but never got around to re installing it.
     
  7. grosser

    grosser Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also use LP and love it. I have never had an issue with any ringers or alarms, so like stated above, I would think your issue had something to do with a corrupt file.
     
  8. Taterus Maximus

    Taterus Maximus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    27
    Do you use a task killer and have it set to kill Sense?
     
  9. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    It is probably the launcher install or any recent app. I noticed the same thing regarding the alarm today(good thing I am on vacation this week) and I recently installed....Zen launcher, Beautiful Widgets, Steamy Window (which is awesome btw). So it is probably one of those.
     
  10. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hmmm I didn't think it was an issue with LP, but at the same time, I kinda assumed that was the problem since this problem started after the many updates with LP, when I first installed the free version, my phone wasn't doing that. I decided not to install LP again, plus I kinda missed the HTC sense widgets and at the same time I miss the responsiveness of LP lol. I went back to HTC Sense, and even though it's not really that slow, compared to LP, HTC Sense does look super slow lol. Everything was cool until TODAY...

    So I did a hard reset on my phone, and it was working fine and everything, and I don't have LP on my phone anymore, but HTC Sense is f**king acting up again!!! I don't know what it is. Now everytime I open an app, and then I click the home button, HTC Sense restarts itself although this time it does finish loading completely. It started doing it, only when I would go into my history calls/contacts, but now it's doing it whenever I open any app. It's starting to piss me off and I really don't want to hard reset my phone again! Ugggh!!!

    BTW, I do have a Task Kill app (task panel), but HTC Sense is on the ignore list.

    Update: It seems like now it's also doing it everytime after I wake up my phone... uggh...
     
  11. twondog22

    twondog22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    My phone has been acting up too, phone is just like yours, updated to 2.1 not rooted. How do I do a hard reset?
     

Share This Page

Loading...