My phone is better, than your phone


Last Updated:

  1. shadrap

    shadrap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    272
    I know people come to the forums just to complain. So, I thought I would fireback with a little info on my hero.

    Rooted, I am running the latest version of Fresh. If you havent rooted the phone, you have no idea what you are missing. It is simple to do and the performance increase is well worth the 10 minutes it takes.

    Opera 5 is by far the fastest browser. If you need more speed Opera will blow your socks off. No browser on any other phone can touch it. It has some kinks that need to be worked out, but once it is released for android it will be sweet. I am posting this from Opera 5.

    Instead of whining about lag and what you can not do. Take the time to root your phone and see just how much it can do. My rooted Hero is better than a Blackberry, Pre, and even an iPhone. I should know, I have had them all.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    86
    There seems like 50 ways to root a phone, some work some dont. Can you give me a link to a straight forward way to root my phone that WORKS. I have the latest Sprint updates...I know i want to root my phone to delete sprint apps, and I am considering the Fresh rom, but Im not to keen on that red keyboard.

    Link to a DIY on rooting that works! I dont want to browse through 14 pages on xda to figure it out.
     
  3. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    prove it
     
  4. shadrap

    shadrap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    272
  5. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    you want an easy way to root... then here ya go.. just as complicated as clicking a button.
    Download: Fresh Pre-Kitchen 0.2 | Bug found in auto-rooter Geek For Me – Android CDMA Sprint Hero

    you can also use the kitchen to load a custom ROM..and add or remove sprint apps. plus a lot more.. just make sure you get the patch for the kitchen to fix the autorooter located here http://link.geekfor.me/kitchen02b
     
  6. Legal

    Legal Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just recently received my Hero a few weeks ago and I've read plenty on this forum about "rooting your phone." I'm not really sure of the benefits of doing such a thing, other than improved performance and being able to delete stock apps. If I have zero experience tinkering with cell phones, should I be advised to just be happy with my Hero as is, or would it really be that much more beneficial for me to read up on this stuff and try to go through with this rooting process? By the way, if it makes a difference, I'm located in WV.
     
  7. cyclonebee

    cyclonebee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with you that a rooted phone is faster, as I am also running fresh 1.1 - but you kept boasting about the Opera 5 browsing speed. If I'm not mistaken (and Google is telling me that I am not) Opera 5 isn't even out for Android yet. Only 4.2 is, so I guess I'm curious as to how you're so special enough to grab a copy of software that isn't currently available?
     
  8. UTnick

    UTnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7
    um, doesn't Opera use server side compression? that is going to speed anything on a mobile device up.
     
  9. shadrap

    shadrap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    272
    Cyclonebee,

    Opera 5 is not out for Android, but I can tell you how to do it.

    Using the kitchen install jbed if you don't already have it.
    Go to the Opera site and download Opera 5.
    It probably won't finish installing the first time, back out and open the new Java icon.
    Click the sd card icon. You should see Opera 5 listed.
    Now click menu, you will see permissions select ask or allow for everything.
    Go back, and click on Opera 5 it will load up. Viola, you have Opera 5

    Play with it, you will notice some bugs here and there, but it is way faster than the stock browser.

    Legal,

    As far as other people being nervous about rooting. I am a regular guy, no experience, just follow the step by step guide. The speed difference is big, plus the wifi tether.
     
  10. cyclonebee

    cyclonebee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, so this is the full desktop Opera 5 browser? That sounds like it wouldnt auto-format pages to fit the screen like the default browser does. Or does it? Also sounds like it would chew up a crapload of memory sitting in the background.
     
  11. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    which recovery does pre-kitchen 0.2 have? 1.2.3 or 1.5.2?
     
  12. shadrap

    shadrap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    272
    No, it is the mobile version. Currently only 4.2 is available to android users. But 5 is way nicer than 4.2 once the bugs are worked out, I am sure it will be most android users browser of choice. There are videos on the Opera site about it, check it out.
     
  13. shadrap

    shadrap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    272
    Jbed is on both version of Kitchen
     
  14. cyclonebee

    cyclonebee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you try giving some more detailed instructions on how to download that? I tried and I keep getting tiny 0.99 kb file downloads and no Java icon to click on once I "back out". Much appreciated man.
     
  15. shadrap

    shadrap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    272
    I will try,

    Go to Kitchen and load jbed into your phone. Once your phone reboots, look under your menu and see if you have java, should look like a coffee cup.

    On your phones browser go to m.opera.com/next. You should see Opera 5. Download it.

    After it finishes downloading it will try to install. Mine would not complete. If yours does not, this is what I did.

    Back out of everything. Go back to the Java Icon click it, you should see and sd card folder, click it. You should see opera don't click yet. Go to menu, then more, then permissions,. Make sure ask is clicked for everything. Click back until you get to the screen with just Opera, click it. It should load up after that.
     
  16. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's a personal preference. One of the biggest benefits is the ability to add custom roms. Custom ROMS can add new features, faster speed and a host of other things.

    Typically when I get a new phone I use it for a few weeks (especially if it's new to the market) so I can get used to the phone. During this time I figure out what I would like to improve or change. At this point I will go out and find a custom rom that I think fills my needs or if their are kitchens available then I'll customize my own.

    Most of my experience with this is coming from Windows Mobile. When I got the Hero I decided I would wait a bit until the modding community has had a chance to mature. At this point I feel like the Hero modding community is pretty mature and I wouldn't have any problems doing it. However I have decided to wait until 2.1 releases and we start seeing custom roms for it. I've honestly never waited this long to mod a phone, surprisingly I am still pretty happy with the stock Hero.

    If you are new to it I would highly suggest you spend a great deal of time reading before you do it. Before you start make sure you have everything important to you backed up and ensure that you have a copy of the RUU handy incase you screw up and need to get back to stock.
     
  17. dougleppard

    dougleppard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am tempted to root, get tired of wating for 2.1 and my buddies have that.

    So what do you loose when you root.

    Also does it matter if I am on Sprint?
     
  18. koricua74

    koricua74 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both. If you select the "with Google" menu button it will install 1.2.3, after you can install 1.5.2
     
  19. andy22

    andy22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    you lose your rootginity.
     
  20. koricua74

    koricua74 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    For all the guys out there that are the fence about rooting your Heroes. You guys should take the plunge. It is easier now the Freshhh's pre-kitchen has an autorooter. I had my Hero for about a month before I decided to root it (I went with Freshhh ROM.) I did because I wanted to get rid of some of the "bloat ware" on the phone sprint tv, amazon mp3, footprints, etc. The phone does seem snappier and I can customize to my heart's delight. Just do your homework and make sure you do a backup so you don't lose any important data. Good luck with your endeavors.
     
  21. HeikoMax

    HeikoMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just finished rooting my Sprint Hero and installing Fresh ROM 1.1. It has literally only been about 30 minutes since I completed the process, which wasn't difficult but not quite as easy as it appears. (Just stupid little things that a noob like me had to take a bit of time with.) I used the pre-kitchen from Freshhh.

    In the little bit of tinkering I can say that I like the amount of customization available to me and the addition of things from Fresh ROM 1.1 like a file explorer program. I can now see the files on my Hero and coming from two previous WinMo phones I missed file explorer. I have not used it enough to judge speed increases.

    The one HUGE thing is the ability to tether. The first thing I did after rooting and updating my ROM was try to the tether with my MacBook. SUCCESS!!! That is super sweet.
     
  22. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    3
    everybody talks about rooting but no one talks about what happen when your phone break... are you able to unroot it to claim the warranty?
     
  23. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    yes.. you can unroot at any time.. of course if the phone won't even power on for some reason who cares..
     
  24. redandblack1287

    redandblack1287 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    3
    Am I missing something here, or is it being incorrectly stated that a rooted phone is required for tethering? I am using a non-rooted phone and it can tether extremely well, with or without pdanet...
    Enlighten me =P
     
  25. mrtimo

    mrtimo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does the Freshh pre-kitchen also make a backup, or what is the easiest way to do this? Thx.
     

Share This Page

Loading...