My phone is doing the dumbest thingGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok so i added a new contact in my phone manually cuz it wouldnt let me copy the number and add a conatact for some reason? but anyways I added the number by hand and I texted the person. After awhile i went back and looked at the number who I texted and its not the number I entered its like 5 phone numbers long. So when I go look at the contact its still their number. Wtf is going on here?
     

    Advertisement
  2. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Turns out this smartphone...isn't so smart after all.

    :) ----> :cool:

    YEAAAHHHH!!!!
     
  3. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Apparently its not lol but that really isnt helping lol. Anyone have any idea?
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Don't laugh, but how dirty is your screen?

    I found that some characters were repeating on my device, just double, not many repeats as you seem to be reporting, one day when I was sweating a bit after a workout and used it to text.

    That's not a duplicate of your problem, but the only thing I can think of besides trying to make it happen again, and if it does head to the Verizon store.
     
  5. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    no its not that the screen is perfect not dirty at all. its literally like 4 different phone numbers.
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Yeah, I was half-way serious about that being it.. :D

    It sounds like a software glitch, to me, if it's repeating like that and not a one-shot deal.

    But one other thing: you mentioned in your first post that it "wouldn't let you add a contact number." I'm wondering if it got added more than once with your efforts to do that. It might have "taken" the first time, but with a lag in time after your second effort, producing duplicate results.
     
  7. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6

    Maybe a glitch idk, but I never got the chance to attempt to add one.
     
  8. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    Sometimes my phone will switch a contacts name to someone else. Like my parent number, labeled as mom and dad, switches to my friends name in call history....weird
     
  9. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    delete it and re add it and see what happens, sounds like a glitch. Or modify something in google and let it push back down and see if that clears it up.
     
  10. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    What do you mean modify something in google?
     
  11. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    yup just make a change, any change that forces a sync and see if it clears up.
     
  12. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Still don't have a solution but I should explain my joke in case you are not aware of the Horatio Caine meme:

    [​IMG]
     
    bjf88 likes this.
  13. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6

    Lol nice i Understand now, but still need a solution to this problem. I am going to the verizon store today after work. Hopefully they can help me
     
  14. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    They'll probably offer a replacement phone.
     
  15. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    something like that happened to me on 2.1.2 a lot. the name at the top of the messages would change. say i was texting annie. somethimes the name would change to, say mark.

    was really confusing sometimes.
     
  16. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    They told me to reinstall handcent because that could be the problem. I havent done it yet because they actually offered me the incredible but I did not get it because they wouldnt offer me the instant rebate so I did not have $272.
     
  17. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    This is actually a problem i noticed on Android altogether, not just the eris...

    When i originally had the droid
    everything was chill and blah blah aside from the cam and keyboard
    well my first day at Penn State, i was meeting a lot of new people
    and getting numbers and participating in freshmen activities
    so when I would go look for my friend Emily's phone number
    and find her contact

    it would have emily's, matt's, jason and Eddie's numbers all under one contact
    and even sometimes the other three people would sometimes actually be under their own name or not...

    I noticed this a lot on my droid
    and sometimes on the eris.

    But more so with the eris, i noticed hat
    when I would sometimes dial say "Christina"
    her number would pop up yet eddie's caller id pic
    would be under it...thinking im dialing eddie
    i would quickly hang up(although with the eris...there is no
    quickly hanging up)
    then try again and then her picture would be there

    i think its an android thing
     
  18. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ya well maybe the problem will be fixed with 2.1? Who knows


     

Share This Page

Loading...