• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help My phone is missing some setting options

DaxMan

Nov 25, 2015
I'm an Android novice so I am looking for some advice if possible

I recently purchased a Daxian W189 Android mobile phone , its a copy of a Samsung G9092

The phones information ....

Phone%20Info1_zpsilp9xgnm.jpg

The problem I have with this phone is that I would like to change the phones Life Companion lock screen wording shown below

Life%20Screen1_zpswevhla8t.jpg

Which from what ive read the settings for the Life Companion can be found here ...​

Go to Settings > My device>Lock screen>Lock screen widgets

when I go to > my device the only settings that are available are these shown below ...

Device%20Settings1_zpsgkf3arvq.jpg

There's no sign of any lock screen settings option any where , and it all so seems that there are several other setting options missing as well.

I have no password set to unlock the phone.

So I was wondering ...
:rolleyes:

On the original sales information about the phone stated that if the phone was updated or flashed the phones warranty would become void .

In the phones settings it has the option for a wireless update as shown below

Phone%20update1_zpskcuqqkcn.jpg

I'm not worried about loosing the warranty , so I was wondering what would happen to the phone if I tried the wireless update and if the update was successful would the phone then some how give me the option to change the phones life companion lock screen wording by now seeing the lock screen settings option and the other current missing setting options.

Of course my main concern would be that after updating the phone it becomes '' Bricked '' and not usable any more:eek:

Any comments or advice would be most welcome

Many Thanks

I mean screen lock, not carrier lock. Do you see any contextual menu or link while dragging the word up and down ?