My phone keeps dropping signalSupport


Last Updated:

  1. TarekElsakka

    TarekElsakka Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    79
    Hey there

    I recently bought a one-month old, in perfect condition HTC One X with warranty and everything. It is a white version which I rooted and installed Viper (Venom) Jelly Bean custom ROM onto about a week or so ago.

    The problem is that the phone keeps dropping signal completely, as in there is absolutely no network at all. I would then have to reboot the phone and then everything goes back to normal.

    I do not understand why this is happening, and I cannot determine if it's because of the OS since the day I got it I immediately installed a new custom ROM to it and then kept trying other ROMs until I settled on Viper.

    Does any body have any ideas what may be causing this? I'll compile a list of all the applications I am running and post them here asap.

    I repeat, the phone keeps dropping network completely not just data (3G) as in I cannot receive or make phone calls.

    Thank you very much.
     

    Advertisement
  2. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,066
    Likes Received:
    971
    does it show that it has no signal or do you just have the problem when you try and use the network (and it still shows you have signal)?
     
  3. blackepoxy

    blackepoxy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    247
    Mine did that the first couple of days I got it brand new.
    I did the simulated "battery pull" key combo power+ vol up & down.
    That resolved my issue, it has not done it again since.
     
  4. TarekElsakka

    TarekElsakka Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    79
    It shows no signal bars at all and an "x" sign.

    I have not tried that. Thanks for the tip, it might come in handy.
     
  5. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    212
    If you've flashed a JB ROM are you sure you have the correct CID number?
     
  6. TarekElsakka

    TarekElsakka Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    79
    How do I find that out? I installed the Viper ROM by following the tutorial to the word and I don't think it mentioned anything about "CID". If I remember correctly, the first step of the guide was to check CID compatibility by booting into Fastboot and running a certain command in cmd prompt which turned out successful, but I may be wrong.
     
  7. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    212
    You can download CID Getter from the Store and run that and lookup the number on the XDA website.

    If you run that command and it passed then you probably have the correct CID number so your issue maybe something else.
     
  8. TarekElsakka

    TarekElsakka Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    79
    Ah yeah, mate, now I remember. I did run the CID getter thing before I even installed the ROM. In the tutorial there was a list of CIDs that you can install custom ROMs to with no problems and mine was one of them, so I am certain it has nothing to do with the CID.
     
  9. TarekElsakka

    TarekElsakka Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    79
    I went to my network provider and had my micro-sim replaced as the previous one was cut from a regular sim card and may not have been efficiently done or something. The problem stopped but for some reason the internet connection keeps dropping and coming back. And I don't mean dropping as in it says "No internet connection", but actually it is connected (it says H, and either 3G or EDGE) and the upload arrow is working but not the download one. I try browsing and stuff but nothing works for a while and then everything goes back to normal.

    I cannot determine whether it's my network, sim card, or my device itself? This is really annoying. I even try restarting and everything but it just doesn't work until it comes back on its own.
     
  10. Rik Mayall

    Rik Mayall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is a common problem with the hox. Mine used to do it also. Very annoying! However it hasn't done it since the last software update. This has definitely cured it for me, mine isn't rooted or anything.
     
  11. Tomo1971

    Tomo1971 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    22
    Your latest issue could be the network or at least an issue on your nearest site. Have you tested it a few miles away so you use a different site?
     
  12. TarekElsakka

    TarekElsakka Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    79
    Well, the problem is that it works fine and then suddenly disconnects (while I am in the same position and haven't moved or anything), which is what makes me think it is an issue with the device. I reverted everything back to stock and installed the latest version of Ice Cream Sandwich (then rooted it) and it hasn't done it since. The network didn't drop at all either, so I am guessing it was a software issue.

    I do miss the Viper ROM, but ICS is just way more stable and has less issues than JB; I guess I'll just wait for JB ROM to be released for the One X.
     

Share This Page

Loading...