My plan


Last Updated:

  1. xvenom89

    xvenom89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am going to upgrade to this phone. Wondering: will I be forced to buy the data plan, or is it optional? I already have minutes and unlimited texts on my family share plan. Any other charges?
     

    Advertisement
  2. justinlindh

    justinlindh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm under the impression that the $30/month data plan is required for this phone. Honestly, I'm not sure why you'd want this phone without it anyway. A significant portion of the functionality relies on data.
     
  3. ayce

    ayce Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup you will have to. All smart phones on verizon require a data plan.
     
  4. MarvinAndroid

    MarvinAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    Why would you want this phone without a data plan? It would be completely useless without data. That's like 95% of what the phone does.
     
  5. bluenik25

    bluenik25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think Verizon requires you to get the higher priced plan if you plan to sync with Exchange. I think it is $45.
     
  6. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well, this phone w/o the data plan is still >>> most other phones non smart phones.

    So even if you used data rarely (and were charged per use) to get games and non-data using apps it would be better than a regular phone. It would almost be like an iPod Touch. It wouldn't be completely useless.

    I'll be getting data when I get it because I want it and I have to, but I can absolutely see why some would want this phone without it.

    Just out of curiosity, if you bought one off of eBay, would Verizon activate it without a data plan?
     
  7. ayce

    ayce Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure this is only for BES access on blackberrys. Winmo was only $30 so android should only be $30 also.
     
  8. ayce

    ayce Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    All smartphone activations require a data plan. They made this change about a year ago.

    Verizon Forces $30 Minimum Data Plans on New Smartphones - Verizon Wireless - Gizmodo
     
  9. justinlindh

    justinlindh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doubtful that they would. It's obviously in their best interests to push you towards a data plan, and many operations on the phone (even the search bar) relies on Internet connectivity (though I realize it would sometimes be available on wi-fi even without data plan).

    You do have a point, though... with the wi-fi feature it would be a lot like an iPod Touch, which I use a boatload on wi-fi.
     
  10. billd

    billd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    12
    It has wi-fi, so data would be available anywhere you have access to wi-fi.

    I'm curious if it can do network traffic across the USB cable? I don't have wi-fi at home.
     
  11. SSinisterSS

    SSinisterSS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    3
    i called verizon up and they said my connect 900 would work on the phone. i dont know how feasable that is.
     
  12. billd

    billd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    12

Share This Page

Loading...