My ringtone changes by itself.....Support


Last Updated:

  1. meshell213

    meshell213 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I trimmed some ringtones for a few contacts, but sometimes the ringtones just change to some other music by itself (music from my music player) and it happend a few times already. And I didn't find a pattern of why and when it will change by itself. It didn't change to the default ringtone, it just change to some random music, and it happened to my Alarm ringtone also. Any idea what's wrong? Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    mine has only done this when restoring from a nand backup...

    it's never done it completely randomly like yours. curious to see if anyone else is having the issue
     
  3. blackmagickfox

    blackmagickfox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine too. I love my htc evo, it's my first foray into android and this type of a smart phone, but it is doing the same thing. in fact not only is it random, but it also changes my ringtones involved with contacts, notifications and even alarms! Plus, though the volume is turned to the max, when it does change and I get a call or text or something, the volume seems to be muted but when i go into settings, the volume is still maxed. It is random, and I wonder if it could be a corruption of android or the phones themselves from downloaded software. I want to ad that only sometimes does mine change to something from my mp3 library, and sometimes it sticks with my ringtones but changes it to a random tone. I don;t know whats going on, but i am now having to seriously look at taking it back since I have had it lest then a month.
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    I have noticed two things....when I update handcent my notifications change ....sometimes all....others only some


    And I think that some may be having some sort of sd card issue!
     
  5. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    After I upgraded my 8gb stock sd card to the 32gb via a drag/drop method all my notifications went crazy. All random sounds for everything I had set in all the apps.

    Another thing I've noticed. If you have been hooked to the computer and just pull the usb cord out of the computer rather than properly ejecting the device it will sometimes wipe out the ringers you had setup.
     
  6. blackmagickfox

    blackmagickfox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    -Another thing I've noticed. If you have been hooked to the computer and just pull the usb cord out of the computer rather than properly ejecting the device it will sometimes wipe out the ringers you had setup.-

    That may be it, but I also noticed that "Zedge" might have something to do with it too, it seems it's seems like anything that can cause the phone to have a 'dur' moment, such as turning it off and back on or anything that can cause issue to the "htc sense" thing, basically, any backround app or services, even something as simple as the "white pages" caller id listener app, can make the ringtones go wacky, I am gonna exchange mine while I can because I am not gonna pay insurance on something that I take care of better then my wife and should work reasonably, so i might as well change it out and then go through the tedious process or putting everything back on the new one, but I am going to put each app on one at a time one day at a time that way i can see if I can trace the source, because I bet it's a certain app that perhaps is corrupting some parsing file or some sillyness to make the phone drop a lung. if you guys want I can get on here and update y'all day by day which app I am gonna add and if the phone is doing it again, maybe we can figure this out yet?


    BTW! I am eventually looking to also upgrade to a 32 micro sd, I would imagine I would have gone about the transfer the same way, is there some way to do it with out that being a problem? cuz honestly I need a 32 eventually since this is my attempt at replacing my older archos 5
     
  7. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    That's the only way I knew to do it. Maybe if you have ports on the computer to stick the chip in vs connecting it via the phone and the usb cable you might get different results. Everything transferred fine. Just the phone somehow changed all the notifications I had set.
     
  8. paapDOTnet

    paapDOTnet New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've run into the same problem on my HTC Evo. I also have handcent installed and have swapped out a higher capacity microSD card. I'm pretty sure the ringtone change problem was occurring before I changed the card so I'm guessing handcent is the culprit. I really like the ability to customize custom tones per contact for SMS messages and the pop-up reply features of handcent but if this continues it will have to get the boot unless someone has any other ideas.
     
  9. ulaurendoesthis

    ulaurendoesthis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same issue - ringtone changes on it's own. For me it seems to happen when I sync my iCal with Missing Sync software - but I haven't had it long enough to know if that is the only cause. Another idea, since we all seemed to have started experiencing this recently, could it be a software update? I am by no means tech saavy AND new to the US market (I think the closest thing in Canada was the Desire). I was an iPhone user and I really want to love my Evo but this business is ANNOYING.
     
  10. Bowman

    Bowman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the same boat, guys. Customized some ring tones by putting parts of songs with a name in it and using it for those people with that name. It worked fine for two days and now I can't even find it on my phone, anywhere. I've got a Captivate,AT&T, and I'm starting to get twisted about the lack of support from them and the problems I'm having. Will hang in there for another month. If not resolved they're getting it back no matter what the cost to me. I'll just go back to my old RAZOR.
     
  11. irelandatheart

    irelandatheart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just got a Samsung Captivate, and I'm having the same problem as several people here. I downloaded custom ringtones and applied them to contacts. It was easy, and it worked for a while. Then suddenly it didn't. When I look up the contact, it says their ringtone is the one I want. But when they call, it's a generic ringtone.

    I've tried making the media file for the sd card, it still didn't work. I know it's not the phone vs. sim card issue because my contacts are saved to my phone.

    What in the hell do I do?

    E.D.
     
  12. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    Have you been hooking it to your computer via usb? Are you "ejecting" the device or just pulling the cord out?
     
  13. irelandatheart

    irelandatheart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, nada like that. It was sudden. I had never even hooked it up to the computer.

    I'm so frustrated because I had the focus windows phone first, but took it back because it wouldn't let me do this at all (no software for it yet) and I got the captivate instead. Ugh!

    E.D.
     
  14. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    EDIT..not minutes after posting this all of my ringers changed :( it seems to happen when Zedge or Handscent have an update. In this case, I uninstalled Zedge, then reinstalled it. Still had to go through and change most ringtones though.


    there are a few things I can think of for you all to try.

    first..make sure none of your custom ringtones are wav files. for whatever reason, ever since 2.2 the android system has had issues with wav files.

    second, format your sd card by this method

    transfer/back up all files to a computer
    disconnect
    go to menu.settings.sd and phone storage.unmount sd card
    now press format sd card
    hook back up to a computer and transfer your files back to the newly formatted card
    re assign all custom ringtones.

    something I have not played with is storing the ringtones in the phone itself. you may only be able to this if you are rooted (verified root access mount system needed). using a file explorer app copy and past them into system/media folder...edit 2...i tried this but can't get them to show up in the list of ringtones so I am not sure of how to do so correctly.
     
    RedBaron134 likes this.
  15. GratefulDiver

    GratefulDiver New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just another +1 on experiencing the issue. (On an Evo..)

    It started for me sometime around Christmas. - I'd used trimmed tones and changed the SD state around before that and not experienced it and I don't have any of the apps mentioned previously in this thread so I'm skeptical thats the issue.

    I'm more inclined to believe its a bug with one of the updates somehow since it didn't start happening until fairly recent..
     
  16. jeremylobaugh

    jeremylobaugh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    17
    I am now having this same issue. I do not use zedge or handcent. I first noticed the problem a few days ago when the Amazon MP3 store app was updated to include a cloud drive. It was also the first time I had used mass storage mode with my macbook.

    It happened to me again today when I transitioned to a 16GB SD card, but I used to mac to do the transfer, so that could be related to the card swap, the use of the mac, or just pure coincidence.
     
  17. RedBaron134

    RedBaron134 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issues and I'm on a DX. It has happened a couple of times before but this time was after I copied to a larger SD card. No updates to programs so I can say that while that may be an issue it's not the biggest issue. I think this may be the cause of windows reorganizing the file structure within the folders. I know that since Android is a linux based OS the file structuring is different from windows. When you copy from windows using the copy command or simply dragging and dropping windows will copy everything in it's file structuring not in what linux would.

    I will be looking into this further as I still have my original SD card and I have not formatted or changed any information on it. One fix I have come up with is when you go to select the ring tones or Alert tones choose the Music option instead of using Zedge or Android system. This allows you to pick the file in the folder directly. If you centrally locate all your files like it was suggested then this should help to fix the random changes that occur from whatever may be causing this.

    One more thing I've noticed is that this happens for all audible alerts on the Phone not just one particular alert or program.
     
  18. psysenz

    psysenz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    At first i thought it was zedge, but after reading this forum, i think it is the way i upgraded my sd card to 16gb. by copying straight from windows maybe. I don't know. just a hunch at this point.

    mine (evo) has been asigning random mp3s to my text message notifications. so now i have one mp3 song when i send a text message, and a different one when i recieve them. and the ringtones i downloaded from zedge, which i set for my universal tone. is now labled wrong. that download is now the "sweetest ringtone ever" and the "sweetest ringtone ever" is now my "astrix" ringtone i downloaded from zedge.

    but this all started happening after i updated my sd card a week or two ago.:)
     
  19. Hewmunga

    Hewmunga New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i hope this gets resolved because my phone was flashed by local geeks to cricket and im gonna be upgrading to a 32gb card and i dont want to lose 70 bucks (thats how much it was to get it flashed) by not being able to transfer data properly.
     
  20. Spiffy

    Spiffy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here too. I did upgrade to a 16G card, but can't remember if it was doing that before or not. I did just drag and drop my files from my windows computer to the SD card to backup, so this may be part of the problem. Should I have used the HTC program? I don
     
  21. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ± Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    27,836
    Likes Received:
    20,758
     

Share This Page

Loading...