My Swype won't work after updating to 2.2 !!!


Last Updated:

  1. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    Error message reads "The Swype package you installed is configured for another device and will operate with limited functionality.

    Please contact Swype about this issue"

    it types when I tap the individual keys but when I Swype I get nothing. Can anyone point in the right direction ? I need Swype on my frozen yogurt.
     

    Advertisement
  2. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    Uninstall it, reinstall it from the beta email link.

    Has happened every single time I've flashed a rom, suddenly it's a different phone as far as Swype is concerned.
     
    HTCeasar likes this.
  3. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    Man I don't have a link AGAIN
     
  4. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    This method worked for me as well.
     
  5. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    Found it thanks
     
  6. emicarri

    emicarri Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    I re-sent myself the beta email and i keep getting the message "Sorry! You're not on an android phone, so you cannot download the Swype-Installer."

    any suggestions?

    UPDATE: ok, i had to log into my email using the browser (i was using the stock email app), apparently that helps the swype website recognize that it's an android phone...

    it's downloading now.
     
  7. FailureDrill

    FailureDrill Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've tried completely uninstalling the Swype program and the Swype installer, redownloading and installing from the Beta email. After a successful install, I set Swype as the keyboard, but the default keyboard continues to pop up. I've also rebooted the device since installing 2.2. Any ideas?
     
  8. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    Did you long-press and select Input type?
     
  9. julez007

    julez007 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the hardest time with swype... any pointers on how to learn it faster other than practice
     
  10. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    It comes with tutorials. Hit the Swype key, or from Language and Keyboard > Swype settings.
     
  11. FailureDrill

    FailureDrill Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hehe, yeah, figured that out just after posting the question. Thanks for the info!
     
  12. frankiepapa

    frankiepapa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    4
    did you use the phone to log into AOL or another mail service and get it from there? I am still having the same issue...
     
  13. crowell392

    crowell392 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    my swype says that i have reached my max downloads ,how do i get more . i have emailed swype but they wont respond:confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...