1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Mybackup pro


Last Updated:

  1. plarsen111

    plarsen111 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Went to back up all my apps, but there is not enough space online. Not sure I want to pay for more space.

    So what are people doing? Backing up to SD card, removing SD card, and placing it in a safe place should their phone get lost/stolen?

    Thanks,

    Phil
     

    Advertisement
  2. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    I never back up to the cloud. I only do backup to SD. If you want another copy you could just copy your mybackup folder from your SD to your computer, then you will have a copy off your phone.
     
  3. plarsen111

    plarsen111 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    And when I get a new phone I would just copy the entire folder from the computer onto the new phone, and all the apps would work, etc? Seems a little too good to be true.

    Phil

     
  4. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    You would just need to install mybackup pro from the market on your new phone, then yes. All of the backup data is stored in that folder so all you need is the app that will install everything from that folder. If you are not rooted it will not restore any market links though (nothing will show in your downloads section and you won't receive updates), as long as you are rooted when you backup and also when you restore everything works perfectly.
     
  5. BBOOZE

    BBOOZE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have to say I love my Android phone a lot but this lack of a real back-up for it is a joke. Why, oh why, is it so difficult to get a real backup program for Android that does a full backup and allows a full restore of the phone (or a new one) as if nothing ever happened? No, instead we have to "root" our phone which can lead to bricking the whole thing and turning it into a paper weight.

    Common....gimme a real backup program here.
     
    plarsen111 likes this.
  6. plarsen111

    plarsen111 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am really thinking the same thing. That was something that was truly great about the iPhone. Something to think about should Apple ever make a phone that makes a call without dropping it.

     
  7. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    With apple it will restore your apps yes, but not your data. Played a game for a while, oh well, you just lost all your progress. Having a rooted android phone saves that data and everything else. If you are not rooted it still restores your apps the same as the iPhone. Just with rooting the phone you get more functionality than a non rooted phone or an iphone
     
  8. plarsen111

    plarsen111 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    @chrlswltrs

    So I root my phone (which I have no problem with), back up my data to my SD card, and then place data on the computer!?!

    Two more questions:

    1. Do I have to regularly back up data to my SD card, remove it, place data on the computer...? Seems like too much work. Which brings me to my next question...
    2. Wouldn't it make sense to just have data backup every time I connected it to my computer.

    Perhaps I am missing something here...but just connecting the iPhone and letting it sync was awesome. Replacing SD cards, placing data on the computer, running MyBackup Pro to hopefully get new phone to replace data in the correct place...not so sure about that.

     
  9. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    If all you want is the type of backup you get with an iPhone just use appbrain. (also no need to root for this)

    AppBrain App Market - Android app on AppBrain

    That will give you the same type of backup as plugging an iPhone into a computer, it will do it wirelessly to the cloud, it is free, and will sync on a schedule you set up (daily, weekly, etc) without you doing anything

    Using my backup pro just backs up more, and if all you want is the same type of backup that an iphone has, use appbrain. If you want something more advanced and therefor a little more work use mybackup pro (or titanium backup which I prefer)


    *All of this is just for apps and app data. All of your contacts, email, calendar are automatically synced with Gmail without doing anything.
     
  10. wamason

    wamason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It appears that there may be a serious problem with MyBackup Pro software AND I DON'T THINK IT'S MY NEW PHONE OR SD CARD.

    ANYBODY OUT THERE HAD A SIMILAR PROBLEM?

    MESSGE SENT TO RERWARE.COM 29 NOVEMBER 2010.
    It appears that there may be a serious problem with your MyBackup Pro software.
    I backed up all of the Apps and Data from my HTC EVO's 32GB SD Card to your server apparently without any problem. I have quite a few apps and it took about 15 minutes or more to do that.
    I had noticed that the App count that had uploaded was different than what I thought sould have been sent so I started your program again (probebly because "protected" Apps are not backed-up), selected the Backup function and the application hung-up and would not stop and it could not be cancelled. After waiting 20 minutes or more the only way I could stop it was to remove the battery.
    After restarting my phone all access to my 32GB SD Card had disappeared, it would not mount and I have not been able to read it since!
    I put in a smaller SD Card and it mounted fine.
    All I can say is it appears that either your "hanging" program, removing the battery to stop my phone because your program "hung-up" and would not stop, or both, has created a real problem.
    Any suggestions?
     

Share This Page

Loading...