myTouch Error


Last Updated:

  1. JSourp

    JSourp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I purchased my phone on 3-26-2010, its the T-Mobile myTouch 3G 3.5mm Jack - Black with 512MB Flash, 288MB RAM, 8GB Memory Card, 3.2 Megapixel camera. When I got home I proceeded to add my media to the memory card and customize my ringtones and others, then put about 10 apps on it.

    2 days later I proceeded to take a picture, while the camera display was there, I had a message displaying across the screen: "Please Insert an SD card before using the camera". I checked Settings/SD card & phone storage to see the total space at 7.40gb so it was reading the SD card. I unmounted, then mounted to make sure that it was installed properly and it was. After going back and forth between the home screen, gallery, and camera, I was not able to take a picture, nor use any data from the SD card (ie: wallpaper, pictures, videos, music). I called 611 and they said I needed a "refresh" so they instructed me to turn my phone off, then turn it back on after about 10 seconds. Everything worked after that.

    2 days later, it happened again, only this time the error was more intermittent. I called 611 again and they instructed me to format the SD card a perform a factory data reset. They mentioned that if this does not work, it must be hardware and they recommended I get a replacement phone. The format/reset worked... for 2 hours.

    I took the phone back to the original t-mobile store that I purchased the original from on 4-2-2010. They had no problem doing the exchange, but didn't seem to care why I was doing it. I walked out of the store with a brand new phone, SD card, and SIM card. I logged onto my gmail account and left everything else alone, no wallpaper, pictures, videos, music, apps, NOTHING. The next day, I had the same issue. "Please Insert an SD card before using the camera".

    After calling 611 again, they suggested the same format/reset, which I have done several times at this point, with no fix. They then suggested that "third time is a charm" I figured that I could not argue that so on 4-5-2010 I went to exchange it again, and again I walked out of the store with a brand new phone, SD card, and SIM card. By the time I got to a restaurant within the mall, and was seated, the third time was NOT a charm. Yes, that dreaded message came again "Please Insert an SD card before using the camera". I went back to the store and he said that there IS a fix coming for it soon, but with no ETA for the OTA (I think he called it).

    I have called 611 a few more times, with no word of such a fix for this issue, I cannot find anything useful via searches on google about this issue. I like this phone, but it is not nearly 100% me, not even close, my old Samsung t239 was more me. Any ideas for a fix?

    I have contact HTC about the issue, but there response was "I understand how frustrating it is when you keep getting that message and are unable to get the device to take pictures or videos because of this. Unfortunately, I will be unable to assist you with this device. T-Mobile does all the support up to a hard reset for the T-Mobile My Touch in accordance with the agreement between HTC and T-Mobile"

    I have recorded a video to accurately show what is happening. Here is a link to the video I recorded and submitted to youtube: YouTube - myTouch Error: "Please Insert an SD card before using the camera" If you would prefer not to use a link, the search for my username on youtube, Petfreak1321

    By now I have spoken to around 10 different people that answer the phones at T-Mobile, along with 2 "tech specialist" all of which have been very helpful in not solving the issue. Although, t-mobile does have excellent customer service.


    Does anyone know of a fix, or future update that will solve this problem with my Android phone? Below are the spec of my phone:
    Under about phone is says that I am up to date
    Model Number = T-Mobile myTouch 3G
    Firmware Version = 1.6
    Baseband Version = 62.50SC.20.17U_2.22.23.02
    Kernel Version = 2.6.29-g023e5c9
    htc-kernel@and18-2 #3
    Build Number = 2.10.531.4 CL119339 release-keys
     

    Advertisement
  2. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Well, you should check out the MT3G forum, specifically rooting. The reason why it said access denied, is because you need root access, which is basically like administrator access in windows.


    http://androidforums.com/t-mobile-mytouch-3g/
     
  3. JSourp

    JSourp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    okay, that makes sense.

    Thank you,
    Jon
     
  4. Damobius

    Damobius New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the Fender version, which is identical hardware but from what I understand has slightly different firmware (no Swipe, for one thing) and the 16GB SD instead of the 8GB. I've never seen this issue before on mine, and have taken plenty of pictures without issue. Probably not helpful for your situation, but indicates that it may be firmware related and doesn't appear to be due to the hardware. Hopefully a future update will fix it for you.

    Oddly enough, I had a similar problem on my old Moto W490. Would have to power cycle the damned thing occasionally just make it understand that there was an SD card with almost 2GB available (kept saying it was out of space). Again, not helpful for you, but interesting, I thought.

    Good luck, and let us know if a future update fixes this!
     
  5. JSourp

    JSourp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I called a t-mobile tech specialist today and he said that the Eclair update may fix it but t-mobile is not releasing it yet because the older android phones such as the G1, 1st Gen myTouch and the Fender Edition may not be able to handle it. see details below:

    myTouch 1.2v (w/ 3.5mm jack) - 512mb Flash / 288mb RAM
    myTouch Fender - 512mb Flash / 192mb RAM
    G1 - 256mb Flash / 128mb RAM
    CLIQ XT - 512mb Flash
    Behold II - 200mb RAM

    So my phone can handle the update, but when will I get it? Luckily it is covered under the 12month warranty, so in 11 months if I am still having this issue I get a new phone. But I doubt I will be 11 months patient.
     
  6. Damobius

    Damobius New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard the same thing, although you should be grouping the Fender with the later, 3.5mm jack model. There was some confusion about that when the LE (Fender) model first came out. Some authors did not understand that there were two versions of the Magic (those with the PVT32A mainboard released abroad and the PVT32B, released in the U.S.) and lumped the LE in with the other U.S. MyTouch 3Gs, but I can attest that the Fender model has the 288MB RAM and the same mainboard as the MyTouch "v.1.2" (PVT32A). I checked the "SD Card & Phone Storage" Settings page on the phone before I bought it to confirm. Sure enough, 288MB. No idea why they hobbled the original U.S. version (PVT32B) of the MyTouch.
     
  7. JSourp

    JSourp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    My mistake, they should update their details on the Fender then, If I would have known that before I would have got the Fender LE. If my phone still has not been updated with a fix in 2 months, I will trade in for the HD2 with 1gb RAM / 1Ghz Processor.
     
  8. Thomjv

    Thomjv New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I purchased the My Touch last Tuesday, April 13. I have had a most frustrating week. I had the same 'please insert sd card' issues that I read about on this forum. My history with this is a follows. I went back to T mobile on the 14th and they exchanged the phone. This sd issue was not solved. Returned again and they re-formatted the card, and it seemed to work for a couple days. On Sat, the issue appeared again, and I went to Best Buy and purchase what I though was a better PNY micro sd. The phone never even recognized the PNY card, so I put back in the original. Yesterday, the 19th, I again returned to T Mobile and they again replaced the phone. I put in my new PNY card, and as of now (only 24 hours) I have not had any issues. I am not convinced the problem is totally solved, but I thought I would add some info on this subject which I know I share with many of you.
     
  9. JSourp

    JSourp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    When you call T-Mobile tell them the problem you are having is reference number: CCKB62971. THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM, yet they are passing it off on HTC. They will then refer you to HTC at (888)716-3594. Have your serial number ready (on back on battery). Let HTC know that you need to replace a defective SD Card and they will ship one too you, and you will be required to send them the defective one. I have done this and have been waiting for about two weeks now with no new SDHC card, chances are it will be another class2 and still will not work as well. This is why I already bought a class6, it has been working great. I blame T-Mobile and HTC for this problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...