N00b rooting as I type


Last Updated:

  1. cdkee

    cdkee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's up everyone.

    I finally took the plunge and am rooting right now.

    I am currently at step I.4. The phone is booting up now.

    After I install the recovery image, I have to flash a ROM right? Which one should I get? Is the one in the sticky thread above outdated, because that post hasn't been updated in a month? Also which ROMs would you suggest? And do I install all ROMs in the same way as the sticky thread?

    Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it. The extent of my experience with this kind of stuff was jailbreaking an iPod touch, which is pretty easy. My experience with linux only goes to Ubuntu, so not much there either lol.

    Thanks again.
     

    Advertisement
  2. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    You can flash the rom thats in the sticky thread to get a rooted version of 2.1. It will have all the bugs that the 2.1v2 leak has or you can go over to xda and grab the rom for v3 that has those bugs cleared up.

    To install roms, just download the rom, copy it to the root directory of your sd card, boot into recovery mode = Vol up+pwr, and chose the flash from sd card option.

    I would suggest running aloysius or the v3 rom of the 2.1 leak at xda. Both of those roms have all the bugs worked out. Sensable is also a great rom, hopefully tho the dev for it will redo it based on 2.1v3 so that the bugs from v2 are worked out of it. Or if you dont like senseUI, you can try the vanilla rom.

    Also, learn how to do a nandroid backup from the recovery console. Easy to do and will save you a lot of time and headache in case you do something you dont like or screw something up.
     
    cdkee likes this.
  3. cdkee

    cdkee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm liking the 2.1 sense. I think I'll check out Aloysius. So right now I'm at step III.

    EDIT: do i put the audio.zip in the root folder also?
    edit2: is it safe to remove the PB00IMG file from the sd card?
    edit3: okay i set aloysius, wiped, installed, and now it's booting up...its running the nexus one type animation...for like 5 minutes now...
     
  4. cdkee

    cdkee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I must say this is pretty sexy. I LOST ALL MY CONTACTS ADUSHYUFGSF

    that's probably my fault though
     
  5. char561

    char561 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    your contacts should sync up when you log into your gmail. it should grab them all automatically
     
    cdkee likes this.
  6. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    LOL yes its a long boot up, just gotta wait it out....and each time your phone boots now, you will notice a longer boot up than other roms, but at least the bootanimation is pretty! You will have to download a boot program to reboot/shutdown your phone without a battery pull. The power down function doesnt work like normal, just makes the phone hang. Quickboot is a nice free app for that.

    yeah you can take the zip files off your card.

    as far as the audio goes, just extract the audio zip to your sdcard/media folder and the phone will find it when you select a ringtone.
     
    cdkee likes this.
  7. cdkee

    cdkee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys thanks for the help.

    Whats the process to change ROMs? Aloysius is nice, but Google Nav doesn't seem to work, and I'd like to try some other ones also!

    edit: epic fail, I installed v7, that's why there's no maps. So whats the process for changing the rom? Do you simply put the file on and then boot recovery mode and flash over?
     
  8. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    Thats the process. Dont forget to wipe.

    If you flash the openGL files on the aloysius v7, your nav maps should work. The aloysius thread at xda has a link for it near the end of the thread. Or, I could find a way to get you aloysious v6maps if you dont wanna flash openGL files.
     
    cdkee likes this.
  9. cdkee

    cdkee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, so I ended up just making a backup then reflashing. Works awesome. Didn't really need LWP, but the nav is awesome!

    Thanks for the help!
     
  10. char561

    char561 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    No problem, if you need any more help, don't hesitate to ask.
     

Share This Page

Loading...