N1 Help Please New PhoneSupport


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my N1 at 11:30 today, unboxed it and turned it on... it was sat at a picture of a droid and a white triangle with a yellow exclamation mark and does nothing.

    From what I can tell it has no O/S on it...

    Can anyone help me get an O/S on it or has anyone seen this before... I would rather not send it back as they take ages and I have been waiting weeks for this to arrive..

    Also it on Vodafone UK.
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    264
  3. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    Wow thats strange....:/

    Anyway just follow these intrustions and you should be good mate.

    How to manually update your Nexus One | Android Central
     
  4. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried that it says verification failed and stops the update
     
  5. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ok.....where did you buy it?
     
  6. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    affordablemobiles.co.uk.. It was security sealed.
     
  7. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried the PASSIMG stock from the recovery menu... I assumed this would put the stock software on it... but it loads it up then after a reboot just sits the the droid screen again.....

    I used the 77.2MB google stock image should when I put this on the phone it boot as normal but with the old OS on it?

    Also not sure if its of any use but when i turn it on it gives me the X then vibrates and does it again back to the X, then it pops up with the droid fellow and the triangle.....
     
  8. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    try turning off then keep volume up and track ball pressed at same time then press power on keeping both pressed. Does that boot into bootloader?
     
  9. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea im in bootloader now...
     
  10. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    ok then press up volume and power at same time until it changes to menu yes?
     
  11. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded this 22607-ERD79-update-nexusone-stock-signed.zip changed it to PASSIMG.zip and put it on the SD card, ran up bootloader and it seemed to install. I rebooted the phone and its back at the droid screen.... what the hell is wrong with this?
     
  12. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    then try factory reset.....
     
  13. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes so it gives me reboot, apply update, wipe data and wipe cache...

    You got MSN this may be quicker...

    Just did factory reset from the menu, no change boots after reboot to the droid and exclamation mark.
     
  14. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    Follow these steps again it should fix it

    try turning off then keep volume up and track ball pressed at same time then press power on keeping both pressed. Does that boot into bootloader?

    ok then press up volume and power at same time until it changes to menu yes?

    then try factory reset.....
     
  15. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10

    Ok try wipe cache as you may have old files in there and wipe data!!
     
  16. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    So this time I did wipe cache, and then wipe data, rebooted and still the same....

    Also in the recovery menu there is an error message shown "E: cant open /cache/recovery/command"
     
  17. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hm i think you need full froyo rom but google have removed it from their servers, i think your best bet is send it back because it should be working if you bought it brand new.

    I tried so hard to help but im out of ideas! Have you tried ringing google for help, their great support mate.

    Let me know how it goes.
     
  18. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone
     
  19. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10

    You have done all you can...........little thanks for searching the net for you for an hour would be nice.......
     
  20. hunta

    hunta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    5
  21. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried HTC, they pointed me back to the retailer. They want to swap it out on Tuesday but im going on holiday on Monday night...

    Surely there is a way to re flash it back to stock to get an OS on it?

    [removed by Mod]
     
  22. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    Everyone,

    Please remember that people may get slightly stressed/upset when dealing with serious issues, so cut them some slack and show a bit of patience please.

    I'd do as suggested tbh. The handset was obviously defective when you bought it so I wouldn't advise trying to sort it out yourself. An inconvenience I know, but you don't want to jeopardise the warranty.
     
  23. crsnwby

    crsnwby Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
  24. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    Glad you got it sorted eventually. I'll close the thread now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...