N1 vs. Droid a few ??s

Last Updated:

1. nasr91

nasr91 Member This Topic's Starter

Hi all,
    I am a complete newbie...What is the difference between the two phones?
    I had the droid for a week and took it back and got a BB as that is what I am used to. Partly becuase I am a huge texter and I have to be able to text one handed with my thumb. And the droid was not good for that.
    So is the N1 good for texting one handed? also is there a way to privately message another person (not text) another person like the BBM ?
    Any general info would be great...and please use small words.....lol
    Thanks

Advertisement
  2. JSchu22

JSchu22 Well-Known Member Contributor

If you weren't a fan of the Droid over a BB then you wont prefer the Nexus One. Also, no there unfortunately isn't an option similar to BBM unless you consider one of the instant messaging providers as one.

3. smitty24

smitty24 Well-Known Member

texting one handed with sywpe keyboard is amazingly simple. but IMO this is also the best android keyboard(largely screen size)...and dang, it also has speech input. :eek:

i use google talk like bbm. I had a blackberry and was using gtalk more anyways, plus the conversations are stored in your gmail inbox for access anytime.

4. nasr91

Thanks guys
    I feel stupid for asking but what is sywpe? And can/could I chat privatly (not sms texts) with someone on a bb or between other phones?

5. meekrab

meekrab Well-Known Member

6. JoeIndy

JoeIndy Member

There's no equivalent to BlackBerry Messenger on any other platform, to my knowledge (unless SideKick does device to device IM). You'll need to use text message or one of the instant message services. Google Talk is built into the Android OS, and a Google Talk application is available for BlackBerry.