N5 keeps adding a home screen by itself?General


Last Updated:

  1. steveu694

    steveu694 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    35
    So my nexus has 5 home screens again, when all I wanted was 4. It keeps adding one to the far right. The screen indicator shows 4 dots and a + sign to the right of the 4th dot. What is going on? Am I somehow adding it by accident? Every day now this has happened. Also, how do I delete it easy? Any insight would be nice
     

    Advertisement
  2. steveu694

    steveu694 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    35
    And for the record, the home screen that is added is blank. I thought you can't have a blank screen without an app or widget?
     
  3. yfan

    yfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    40
    Do you by any chance use a wallpapers app such as Backgrounds? This happens to me when I try to set a new wallpaper from the app rather than the process of pressing and holding on a home screen.

    At any rate, you can eliminate the extra screen by moving an icon there and moving it back to a different home screen.
     
  4. steveu694

    steveu694 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    35
    No I use stock wallpaper and haven't changed it. I Googled (nexus 5 blank home screen) and a lot of people are experiencing this.
     
  5. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    639
    This was the feature I didn't like about the stock launcher. It will grow or shrink on it's own based on how many icons you have and it will add icons to a home screen whenever you download apps from Play. While the simplicity is nice, there aren't a lot of controls for modifying this behavior. Like you, I wasn't aware that it would create a blank Home Screen, but it might do that if the previous Home Screen fills up. It also doesn't allow you to select the default HS-- always the left-most screen whereas I prefer the default screen to be the one in the middle.

    I didn't stay with it long enough to learns all it's ins and outs. Drove me crazy and I went back to Nova.
     
  6. steveu694

    steveu694 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    35
    I only have 4 apps per screen, so it's not filling up. I just uninstalled an app and it caused a blank home screen again. I also pressed on all 16 available slots for apps in hopes there may be a "ghost" app or widget as someone online said. But there wasn't. I'm finding this blank screen appearing to be very strange.
     
  7. Omar Days

    Omar Days Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    338
    I think you'd like nova. Should give that a go!
     
  8. steveu694

    steveu694 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    35
    I had Nova for a year and a half on my s3. I love stock android. This is just weird to me. Was this planned or will there be a patch for it?
     
  9. Trimbaud

    Trimbaud Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    36
  10. steveu694

    steveu694 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    35
    If you read my above post, yes I tried the icon trick.
     
  11. Trimbaud

    Trimbaud Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    36
    Sorry man - I'm not hanging on your every word
     
  12. steveu694

    steveu694 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    35
    I will try the ghost icon trick again when it happens
     
  13. Rockinfigs

    Rockinfigs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have the same exact problem..the only wat to get rid of the extra screen is to hit the center button to access all your apps and returning to the homescreen or u have to just reboot..it happened to me twice and nothing since.
     
  14. jlede

    jlede Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    84
    It's a GEL issue same thing happens to my n7 it's weird
     
  15. steveu694

    steveu694 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    35
    Hasn't happened to my n7 ever.

    So to the above post, you hit your app drawer and it never happened again? How long has it been?
     
  16. Lona808

    Lona808 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    17
    It happens to my N5 when I install new apps or rearrange a lot of icons. All I have to do though is move an icon from one screen to another (NOT the blank screen) and the blank one disappears. It sure is annoying though.
     
  17. steveu694

    steveu694 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    35
    Update: The post above me is correct. The blank home screen only prompts when you long press an Icon or uninstall an app. I guess this is Google's way of saying, "hey, you can add more home screens if you want!" Easiest way to remove the ghost home screen is to long press any Icon and let go. Scrolling to the blank home screen makes it "real" and since there is no easy way to remove it, you will have to add an app to the blank home screen and then remove it, unfortunately. This seems to be a normal function, but it still takes some getting used to. Thanks everybody!

    Steve
     
  18. mappy139

    mappy139 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had this problem and I would just restart my phone and it would go away
     
  19. Lona808

    Lona808 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    17
    You don't even have to do all that. Just long press an icon on the previous screens.
     

Share This Page

Loading...