NAND Back-ups - How Many


Last Updated:

  1. BlazeD OnE

    BlazeD OnE Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have been doing a lot of NAND back-ups the past couple days. I have 17 currently saved right now, I'm just curious how many every has to date, if you like to keep just a few or back-up EVERYthing.
     

    Advertisement
  2. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    I periodically back up my primary ROM every couple of days (or less) as I perform rooting experiments - after all, I want to come back to right where I left it.

    Because that primary ROM is heavily configured and used, and probably has all sorts of trash in cache, it takes about 260 MB to back it up just once. So, for an 8 GB SD card, there would be a practical limit of about 30-32 of those backups - far less if I wanted to have an ext partition for A2SD, or music on the card, or space for photos, or ....

    OTOH, I'm performing a backup only to have a copy of my most recent configuration, so I tend to delete old copies of the same ROM as I go along.

    Also - truth be told - once you've had a quick peek at a ROM, what's the chance that you are going to ever re-load it? Seems like a ROM either becomes your fave, or it doesn't.

    I suppose you could switch ROMs like you might switch wristwatches (as a fashion accessory), but after a while, keeping multiple ROMs configured so that all of your "stuff" (bookmarks, etc) are in there and up-to-date starts to become a hassle.

    But, don't do what I say - just do what suits you. (Make sure to keep enough space on the SD card so that you can do "just one more" backup, though!)

    eu1
     
  3. BlueDC2

    BlueDC2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    52
    I'm going to clear my call history, cache, etc. then make one nice nand backup since I've been on the same rom for a few weeks now. Then I'll drop my others on my computer, and delete them from the phone, but leave my one good one.
     
  4. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    i just did some house cleaning here on my eris, tired of all the crap. i am trying titatnium restore as well as a nand to try and get things perfect
     
  5. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    I only keep one fully-functional backup for each ROM that I use. If I make a new backup of a ROM that I previously backed up, I'll delete the old one. That way my nandroid folder isn't overcrowded.

    So right now I've got:

    - my original 2.1 OTA backup (I used the battery pull method)
    - White Widow 3.1 backup
    - White Widow 4.0b3 backup
    - Tainted Vanilla 1.4 backup
    - Eris_Official 1.0 backup (a new backup as of last night)
     
  6. hattrick

    hattrick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    29
    I typically keep three:

    1. Previous ROM- last known working configuration
    2. New ROM- After flash, immediately setup and apps loaded
    3. New ROM- latest known working configuration

    When loading new apps, tweaking, removing stuff etc I test it out and let it run for a few days and replace #3 once I'm confident everything is running OK.
     
  7. BlazeD OnE

    BlazeD OnE Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm real new to root, so it's probably because I'm really excited and had to try just about every ROM, so far I have back-ups of these ROMs:
    Aloysius 2.0v12
    Aloysius snow
    cyanogenEris1.1
    Eris Lighting 3.02
    Eris Lighting Bolt1.4
    Evil Eris 2.01
    Evil Eris 3.0
    Fresh 2.1(had problems with 2.1.1, specifically the soft keys work in 2.1, and not 2.1.1)
    Ic3Rom2.7
    Pure Hero2.0
    Sense-able3.1
    Tainted Vanilla 1.4
    ZenEXP Rev7

    Sense-able is my daily use, and I really like Aloysius, and Tainted Vanilla!
     
  8. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    The only thing you might not be aware of is that nands take up a bit of storage space depending on the rom you have backed up. If you need that space for music or need to make sure you have enough for both music and nands its something to keep in mind.

    Sent from my phone bitch using Tapatalk
     
  9. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    17?? HOLY LOTS OF NANDS, BATMAN!!!

    I keep about 3 or 4. 2 from previous roms in case i decide to go back.

    And 2 from my current rom.
    1 from when it was just flashed.... and one recent one. I replace it every now and then.

    I only keep the most recent one on my phone because they take up so much space.
    I keep the others on my computer ready to load onto my SD card if ever needed.
     
  10. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    I have a backup of my first root, I make a backup after I first set up a new ROM, and then I keep a latest backup for each ROM. (Of course, I've only used two ROMs so far, and the second was this morning.)

    So, I have:

    original root install, just after recovery setup
    Ivans_Original
    Ivans_Latest
    Senseless_Original

    I think I might keep another set if I end up trying something that I know I may abandon later on, such as trying out an alternate home app with a Sense based ROM or something.
     
  11. BlazeD OnE

    BlazeD OnE Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    12
    is it bad to flash ROMs like a mad-man? I've only had root since 2 days ago and already I've flashed and made a NAND of basically every ROM, a couple of them I have a few back-ups, I had a 16GB SD card tho, and I have 19 nand back-ups and they only take up 1GB, and I don't have music or anything on there so that's fine i still have over 14GB. they are so small because I set it up so the ROM is set up and running and the home screen to my liking without any apps installed. I can't believe I waited so long to root!!
     
  12. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Not bad at all.
    Personally, i just dont see a reason to. There's no way you would ever need all of them.
    Really, just a good backup of every rom once you got it set up the way you like it.

    Do you have them renamed so you know which is what?
     
  13. BlazeD OnE

    BlazeD OnE Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    12
    that what I mean, just about every one is different rom, and there all renamed
     
  14. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    i know its a little off topic but i was doing the same thing (making multiple nand back-ups for diff roms and i renamed them using astro (if that makes a difference) after i did each one so i could keep them straight and now none of them work... it just says

    Error : run 'nandroid-mobile.sh
    restore' via adb !

    i renamed the backup file and the single file inside the backup file because when i did it i thought backups from the same rom would go in one file... would that matter? if so is there a way to fix it so it will recognize it and work again?
     
  15. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    You prob. added a charceter that cant be used. such as a space " "

    keep it short and do something like Kaos_Froyo
     
    ericDylan likes this.
  16. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    exactly what i did. thanks!
     
  17. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    ok well i assumed that was it because i had in fact put spaces in the nand backup file names but after i removed the spaces it still said the same thing... is there anything else that can not be put in the names or something else i could be doing?
     
  18. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    Cant remember off top of my head, can u show me what u have it as??
    also if ur battery is too low u will get a msg like that tpp
     
  19. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    When I got that error before, all I did was delete a few backups and then I was able to backup/restore just fine. There were many other solutions I found (just do a search for that error message), but none of them worked for me.
     
  20. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    it is probably the battery. it is yellow right now. and the last time i was trying to do it and ran into the problem it was kinda late at night so i bet it was low then too. im going to back-up all my apps and data tonight and hope that it will be working tomorrow whenever i get a chance to try.
    thanks.
     
  21. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Yeah that is the most common solution I saw when I was looking around. I don't know what percentage it looks for, but I try to be above 60-70% or so when doing any nandroids or flashing.
     
  22. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    I've had no problem doing a NAND with 40% battery, I wouldn't test you luck much lower than that.
    for a full install ROM I'd give it at least 50%
     
  23. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    just took it off the charger about an hour ago and it still is not working.
    i go into recovery and backup/restore
    then go to nand restore choose the file named "Zen"
    after that it takes me to the file in Zen and i renamed that one to "first" i choose first and it says that whole are you sure thing press trackball to confirm
    when i confirm it does this exactly

    Restoring : .

    Error : run 'nandroid-mobile.sh
    restore' via adb !

    Edit: just made a new restore and it is doing that fine so it must be something about that way i renamed the files... could it be that i used astro or that i renamed the file inside the file?
     
  24. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Your filenames cannot contain any spaces.
     
  25. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    yeah i know i checked to make sure and it still didnt work. i guess i am going to have to just not rename them and write down the code and what rom it is on my computer so i will be able to tell them apart. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...