Nandroid and SS ROM problem


Last Updated:

  1. VeryApe

    VeryApe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Running newest SimplyStunning ROM(just flashed today and I love it.)
    Finished restoring apps and setting up my home screens and I wanted to get a good backup.
    It doesn't matter whether I run simple or advanced backup, both of them get stuck about halfway while dumping the system.tar.

    I let my last attempt sit for nearly the whole 2nd period of the Penguins/Islanders game and it hasn't moved.

    Any advice?

    I think I may try a different kernel just for shits and giggles.
     

    Advertisement
  2. VeryApe

    VeryApe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Bueller....Bueller.....anyone?
     
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    When I had SS 3.0 on my phone I made a clockwork backup no problem. I assume you are using SPR since that is what is needed to install
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Well my first thought would be to try reflashing spr to see if its an issue with spr some how.
     
  5. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Well out of curiosity I flashed my backup of SS and then flashed SPR and I couldnt reproduce your problem. Both simple and advanced worked fine. If flashing SPR again doesnt work I would post in chevys thread on alldroid and see if he has any ideas.
     
  6. VeryApe

    VeryApe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm not using Clockwork, I didnt really see a point in changing from what I had. The system recovery I have is 0.99.3b and has been working sice I rooted about 4 months ago.

    Should I switch to clockwork? Is there any benefit to using clockwork?
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Well there are benefits to clockwork imo but I would first try reflashing .99.3b. See if that fixes your problem
     
  8. VeryApe

    VeryApe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the input, Ill give that a try and see what goes down.
     
  9. VeryApe

    VeryApe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, no dice with a reflash of SPR. Guess I'll give Clockwork a try.
     
  10. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    40
    Are you able to backup any other ROM's via SPR?
     
  11. VeryApe

    VeryApe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, I was running an old version of of a ROM that shall go unnamed, but always with your kernel.
    I flashed Clockwork recovery and backed up no problem with that, so all is good. If you want any other info, lmk.

    By the way, Simply Stunning is tits!
     

Share This Page

Loading...