NANDROID backup


Last Updated:

  1. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    When I do a nandroid backup, do I first need to wipe data/dvalik first? I've searched the threads, but no one has mentioned doing a wipe before a nandroid.
     

    Advertisement
  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    NO. this defeats the purpose of a backup.

    backups save a "snapshot" of your phone so that you can go back to it exactly as it was when you did the backup. if you do a wipe before you backup then all of your settings will be gone.
     
    orchard_112 and Rossco_Pee like this.
  3. magicelf

    magicelf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    But you should do a wipe before you restore a backup, right?
     
  4. char561

    char561 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, always wipe before restoring a backup or installing a new rom
     
  5. Philosophre

    Philosophre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Personally, I just restore. I don't do a wipe first. I have yet hit any walls of failure from this. But then again wiping takes only 1 minute. But I do wipe for sure when I flash a ROM.
     
  6. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    no need to wipe before a restore either. wipes are only needed when flashing a new rom
     
  7. erebus

    erebus Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have multiple NANDbackups, is the file with the higher filename number the newest?
     
  8. libraryclg

    libraryclg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    The NAND backups are according to date, so for example "BDS-20100512-0349" is newer than "BDS-20100512-0240".
     
    flspnr likes this.
  9. vermithrax423

    vermithrax423 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    how long does it take for your phone to restart after you do a restore? this is the first time i have tried to do a restore and it has been sitting on the first startup image for a while now... how long should it take? if i have to i will just reflash the rom, just figured since i did a backup it would save the time of reinstalling all my apps and such
     
  10. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    It may take a while. You did do a wipe before you restored right?

    It may not be essential, but it takes just a few seconds just to be sure.
     
  11. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Is there a different process for doing a NAND restore is I have a2sd?
    I though i read that somewhere but now cannot find it.

    I did both wipes... nand restore...
    and now it's just going back and forth betrween the Verizonwireless sceen and the HTC screen....
    been about 15 minutes now.

    I have other Nand restores i can try, but i wanted to see if anyone had any tips for me :(
     
  12. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    If you are trying to go from an app2sd rom to one that doesn't have it you need to wipe your ext partition first. Basically delete all your apps.

    Sent from my Aloysius Eris using Tapatalk
     
  13. DjCalvin

    DjCalvin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    You CAN rename these folders too..
    Just do not put a space in them.. Ie: Rom at May 18th
    Just name that: Rom_At_May_18th
    or whatever your choosing...
    I found that trying to decipher the names with which rom of the day I was playing with was a nightmare.. saw that you could rename and went with that..

    a Space in them will cause an error saying cant open <nandroid backup folder> when you try to do a restore.
     
  14. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Just a heads up about renaming your Nands. DO NOT put anything other than a - or _ in your new name. I put an & in a couple of my backups and It wouldn't restore. So I had to go to a very old backup, go into astro and remove the & from the 2 backups I used it in and then go back to recovery and restore the newly named backups. Looking back on it, it wasn't that big of a deal, but at the time it sucked and if I can help someone avoid what I went through by posting this then I'm all for it
     

Share This Page

Loading...