Nandroid restore issue


Last Updated:

  1. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    RA 1.6.2
    Newest Zen ROM, however it's happened since I was on Fresh 2.0d, Zen 0.9.6.3, and now on the newest Zen.

    I can perform a Nandroid backup without issues or errors. I can use a file manager to confirm its there.

    I am not running into space issues on the Class 6, 8 GB memory card. To confirm, this happened on the stock card.

    Scenario...

    I boot into recovery, go to Backup/Restore, Select Nand Restore, locate the file I changed the name of (Have tried without changing name as well) then it goes to another screen that has a file name of BDS-201009023-0204. I imagine this is a date stamp of sorts. After I select that, I get the "restore to BDS-20100903-0204" press home to confirm. I do that, it says Restoring for about a second, then has an error.

    Error : run 'nandroid-mobile.shrestore' via adb!

    I have never been able to perform Nandroid restores, but have been able to do backups. I've tried on 3 different ROM's.

    The only thing I can think of that may have caused this is at one point when I first got the phone, and rooted I had 1.5.2 and then upgraded to 1.6.2 I never tried a Nandroid on 1.5.2 before changing to 1.6.2. But that's the only thing I can think of when it comes to Recovery that may be the issue.

    So, thoughts?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
  3. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks Kelmar.

    I'm going to see if that works singularly (if that makes sense) but I want to fix this permenantly. I'd hate to be forced to have a PC around when I want to Nand Restore.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Makes perfect sense :)

    Reading through the thread has more info too BTW.
     
  5. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yeah, I read way past post 10 to where it came across a blank file of the 6 in the Nand file.

    I think my issue resides in my "upgrade" from 1.5.2 to 1.6.2.

    Will report back later on my findings.
     
  6. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ok, RUU'd and now rooting back...

    I get to step 9 of this guide:

    http://androidforums.com/sprint-hero-all-things-root/162821-how-root-sprint-hero.html

    I get the following error:

    cannot create su: read-only file system

    Now, I'm not a linux guy but I know what this means... I don't have the proper permissions.

    Now on step 7 it has the following syntax:

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

    Now I think that meants it's mounting with Read and Write permissions (Linux, read, write, execute) so I "should" have permissions and I don't get any error messages when I perform step 7. I have gone back and tried it over and over again, but not happening.

    Need a linux guy to decipher the syntax and let me know how to fix it.
     
  7. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    LOL, ID10T error on my part...

    I put a space before the RW... whoops

    Now I'm getting access denied pushing the RA to the SD card... Mount? Nope... format.

    Was partitioned previously for A2SD.
     
  8. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well Kelmar, seems my "update" from 1.5.2 to 1.6.2 was the issue.

    RUU'd, rooted, added 1.6.2 from the get go and then restored the Nandroid I made before RUU'ing.

    Working great now. I can start flashing all sorts of ROM's knowing I can keep coming back to this.
     
  9. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    I get that error a lot. At least you recovered from it on your own, lol. It's worse when someone else points it out to you!
     
  10. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Lol

    Glad you got it working!

    *goes to delete the full PM box now* ;)
     
  11. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yup guys, it's all working now. If anyone in the future has questions about it, just PM me.

    Kelmar, thanks for letting me bounce idea's off ya. Sorry for the full inbox. :)
     
  12. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Anytime :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...