Native "view all apps running in the background" option on Android 2.1?


Last Updated:

  1. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    For those of you running the leaked 2.1 for the Sprint Hero, can you tell me if there is a native task manager type of option that allows you to see all the background apps that are running?

    If there is such a thing, how do you access it? Does it allow you to switch between running apps? Does it allow you to kill the app (like a task killer would)?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    menu>applications>running services
     
  3. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can this do the things I mentioned above? Is there anyway someone could provide me with some screenshots of this function? I would appreciate it a lot
     
  4. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
  5. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm very interesting! Now, if only there was a way to access that easily from any stage of the phone (i.e. double clicking the home button), I think it would make the usability of the phone much much better...
     
  6. UTnick

    UTnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7

    haha. there is. just go ahead and root and flash your phone so you too can have the goodies.

    you can add a shortcut to "running services"
     
  7. UTnick

    UTnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7
    hey, i use the curvefish battery widget too. it's the shizzle.
     
  8. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking it, but decided to just wait till the official release comes out.

    So you're saying I can add a shortcut to the "running services" on my homescreen? That's nice, but is there any way to access it if I am not on a home screen (say, in another app) by using any of the hardware keys?
     
  9. UTnick

    UTnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7

    hmmm, not that i know of. i wonder if we can bind keys to do something like that.
     
  10. Taterus Maximus

    Taterus Maximus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    27
    If you're on another screen you can pinch zoom and jump to the screen you want to go to
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...