Nav w/traffic rerouting?General


Last Updated:

  1. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    32
    Question for you experts out there.

    I love the real time traffic on my Inc, my question is this; does the Inc's nav reroute you to avoid traffic? I know some other nav's do and some don't. I'm just wondering if it takes traffic into account and will tell you to avoid a highway or whatever to get you around it quicker.

    Has anyone experienced this yet? What are your thoughts?
     

    Advertisement
  2. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    I think it will do it the same way as maps. For example, if there's traffic/construction, it will give you that route, plus one or two others with their apx times.

    Unfortunately I haven't experienced this yet.. Hopefully someone will find out soon :D
     
  3. shh

    shh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    20
    Click on layers and one of the options is traffic. This will show colors to show how heavy traffic is. Not sure about auto re-route because of heavy traffic.
     
  4. andydrew

    andydrew Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't believe that traffic re-routing in available. In fact, even with the traffic layer turned on, you really can't be sure how long the delay is. Only the color of the type of delay.

    On my TomTom One the traffic module actually provides information on how long the delay is so that the TomTom can effectively re-route that can get to the destination faster.

    Features of Google Maps for mobile at the link below. Notice that it says 'Real time traffic helps you find the fastest route' vs. any description regarding automatic re-routing due to traffic.

    http://www.google.com/mobile/maps/

    More info on the navigation function at the link below. "Traffic View - An indicator glows green, yellow, or red based on the current traffic along your route. Touch it to see traffic ahead of you."

    http://www.google.com/mobile/navigation/
     
    Liquoredolce likes this.
  5. wooten

    wooten Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    I Would like to see that too.
    Also an option for alternate root
     
  6. wooten

    wooten Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    I Would like to see that too.
    Also an option for alternate route.
     
  7. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    32
    Thanks guys.

    I'll be driving on 95 around DC today, so by the end of the day I'll probably have a good answer for you unfortunately :(


    :p
     
  8. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    32
    Hey guys, figured something cool out.

    It appears that if you just use the nav in normal mode, you don't see traffic, or times accounting for traffic. Even if you select layers-view traffic, it doesn't appear to account for traffic, HOWEVER ---

    If you view route info with traffic, then select "detour", it will list multiple routes, all showing traffic conditions AND adjust times according to traffic conditions. Normally my route to work will say 26 or so minutes, I did that this morning and it adjusted to 54 I believe (I live around DC, great huh?).

    I wish it would adjust for traffic normally, but either way this is an extremely nice feature to be able to see side-by-side detours, the mileage, and the time they will take adjusted for traffic!
     
  9. dibs ODDJOB

    dibs ODDJOB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    107
    Google Maps DOES and always has calculated the ETA with traffic taken in to account, which is the number in the corner while you are navigating. When you get directions, it tells you how long it would take with zero traffic, then tells you the ETA with current traffic right below it. My ride home says 19 min, and 26 min in traffic, which is scarily accurate. It also updates the ETA as you drive, so the closer you are the better the estimate.

    As far as automatically telling you how to get there quicker, I believe it takes that in to account when you first search for directions to a destination. i.e. The first route they give you is there best guess at which is the quickest, with current traffic taken in to account.

    If you are stuck in traffic, you could have it redo the directions. Or you could just take another route and it will reroute you based on your new direction.
     
  10. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    Dibs is correct. I go to the casino about three times a month. Normally I take highway A to Highway B to Interstate I. However, this time due to construction on highway B, Nav took me from Highway A to Route X, because it was faster than going through the traffic on highway B.

    Very, very nice :)
     
  11. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    32
    I never noticed the little number, I'll have to check that out.

    It definitely doesn't always select the quickest route. There have been multiple times that I've selected detour immediately after opening nav and it will show an option that's 10 or so minutes less. Maybe it's taking other things into account, but it's not always giving you the quickest route. It is usually close though.

    Thanks guys!
     
  12. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    158
    To clarify, re-routing is not automatic, and it seems Maps will always pick the standard assumed fastest route first, but drive time is indicated with traffic taken into account, and when you ask for alternate routes, they are also presented with adjusted drive times.

    My rule of thumb: If I see a red dot next to the time estimate on my current route, I check for alternates.
     
  13. lizm

    lizm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    51
  14. suprafreak1000

    suprafreak1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    95
    Talk about a thread bump..
     
  15. jikhead

    jikhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    180
    I just drove the other day from small town Arkansas to DFW area with the update applied to my Nav app. I hit a couple slow downs during rush hour traffic and didn't get any reroutes. I would've really liked a reroute on the exit off the interstate. It became a bottleneck and deadstop and the Nav still wanted me to take the next exit within the logjam. Fortunately I was able to sneak off the exit just before the "said exit" and continue on the access road to avoid the entire traffic jam...just wish it say it coming in real-time.
     
  16. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Yeah, this is a GOOD thing. :) It means that folks are searchng, and posting in a thread that is on the same subject, rather than creating a new thread. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...