Navigation...Did you know...Support


Last Updated:

  1. eugenekim618

    eugenekim618 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hey All,

    I just figured this out yesterday. Not sure if I'm just a late bloomer, but didn't come across this in any threads, and it seems many people are looking for this.

    On our x10, on Rogers.

    If you open up the app drawer, there is an icon titled "Navigation" and it's a blueish arrowhead.

    Click that and it opens up Navigation for Google. Press the top right button that looks like an "M". And you will be able to see the map in 3D mode and just drive around without a destination. As far as I know, it only works in few countries/areas?

    Hope this helps any of you wanting to save money on buying a seperate GPS Nav unit.:D
     

    Advertisement
    Crash27 likes this.
  2. dibberly

    dibberly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    15
    i think that "M" just displays the map without any navigation programmed
     
  3. eugenekim618

    eugenekim618 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yes, that is what I was trying to say, hehe.
     
  4. dibberly

    dibberly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    15
    i thought you meant that if you press that button it will display your map in 3d...mine never hence the reply
     
  5. eugenekim618

    eugenekim618 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    10
    Mine goes into 3D. The view changes as you start driving, and when you come to a stop etc. if it doesn't, try pressing the traffic signal light button on the bottom right. When you press that, I believe an arrow icon shows up...you can flip between 2 views. I used it last night and then this morning going to work.
     
  6. eugenekim618

    eugenekim618 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ok, just checked into this a bit further. When in this Navigation program, if your location is pin pointed via Wireless networks, you WILL NOT get the 3D navigation mode, and will only be presented with the 2D map.

    Leave Wireless Networks UNCHECKED, and GPS satellites and assisted GPS CHECKED.
    When you get a proper GPS signal in Navigation, you should get 3D mode. If not, there should be a traffic signal light icon at the bottom left of the map, and you can click on that to flip views. Hope this helps.
     
  7. Crash27

    Crash27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yes it works great, Reminds me of Wikitude Drive application.
     
  8. wynney666

    wynney666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    34
    yes, this came with the recent maps update, or at least it did on mine, because the navigation icon wasnt there before, i had to load maps and select Navigation before the update.
     
  9. Merolas

    Merolas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    It's google Navigation Beta, It's distributed with the latest update of google maps, but good thing you find out a way to show the GPS without having to type a destination!
     
  10. ECBomb

    ECBomb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    10
    does the Navigation app use data or just the GPS chip?
     
  11. clockwork58

    clockwork58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    29
    Uses data because it has to download the map of where you are. Whereas on a real navigation software, you would preload your maps via computer onto your phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...