Need an experts help


Last Updated:

  1. iFrostyy

    iFrostyy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Okay so here is my problem. Yesterday i loaded evilboot.nandroid so i could OC my Droid. That part worked, but one of the "side effects" was wifi not working and sure enough that has happened to me. I searched many forums and found an adb code that i attempted to enter.

    The code is below
    WiFi Fix
    You might also need this tiwlan_drv.ko, depending on what kernel you had prior. tiwlan_drv.ko
    From a root, recovery console (su):
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]Code:
    mount -o remount,rw /system
    cp /sytem/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko tiwlan_drv.ko.bak
    cat /sdcard/tiwlan_drv.ko > /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko
    chmod 644 /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko
    Mount -o remount,ro /system

    What happens is i get to the second line of code and it says Tiwlan_drv.ko cannot be found, or something close to that. I have NO idea what so ever to place this .ko file on my sd card so adb can access it.

    I must be doing something obvious wrong. Does anyone know what i am doing wrong, if so help? Much Thanks :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. iFrostyy

    iFrostyy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Anyone? :S
     
  3. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    Well, I'm not an expert but I don't see anyone else replying to this thread. My advice to you would be to try asking this at Droidforums.net or Alldroid.org. There may be users there who can answer this for you. I'm not really familiar with that fix honestly, since the ROM I'm using already has it included AFAIK. You could always just install a ROM with the fix already in that supports OC'ing.

    If it can't find the file, then it's probably not there. You did mention that it might be required. Maybe it isn't for your particular kernel version; or you need to copy a version of the file to that directory if it doesn't exist. I wish I could do better for ya though, sorry.
     
  4. darrin2520

    darrin2520 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    The second line is basically making a copy of the tiwlan driver as a backup just in case something gets flubbed up. Apparently, this module is not on your system, so in theory you would be safe in proceeding to the next line since you can't overwrite something that isn't there.

    I can't figure out why they are using the cat command on the third line instead of cp, but I would follow the rest of it as they have it.
     
  5. iFrostyy

    iFrostyy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    So do you think proceding would be a good idea? or possibly changing cat to cp?

    i really hate not having wifi lol
     
  6. iFrostyy

    iFrostyy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Okay i have had a problem like this before. When i did the cat command line the proceeding line says "read only file system" and im not sure how to get past it.
     
  7. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Try following the instructions in this post: http://androidforums.com/308488-post261.html

    It's much easier.
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    You're fine skipping that 2nd line.

    By the way, those mount instructions are wrong, but you must know that if you've successfully gotten to the 2nd line :D
     
  9. iFrostyy

    iFrostyy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
  10. iFrostyy

    iFrostyy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    lol as i said, i just started using adb and have no idea what im doing half the time
     
  11. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Well, then, let me modify the code for you so you can follow it word for word:

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system
    cat /sdcard/tiwlan_drv.ko > /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko
    chmod 644 /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system

    up to you, but I like to run the following two commands afterwards

    sync
    reboot

    but in this case, I don't think it's necessary.
     
  12. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Really? :confused:

    The WiFi fix file is tiwilan_drv.ko, which you have a link to in your first post in this thread, and there's also a link to it in my instructions.
     
  13. darrin2520

    darrin2520 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    The link is in that post. Download that file and then transfer it to your sd card.

    As for cat vs. cp, use what they have. I was just thinking out loud about why they are using that command. cat basically dumps the contents of a file, the > is a redirect. So basically, you are dumping the contents of the file to the other file if that makes sense. Basically what copy does.

    Please note that I am not a droid expert, but I do know linux.

    The other instructions on that site seem like a more "graphical" way to do the same thing that the console commands do. The mount command does seem wrong though as it doesn't specify what filesystem is supposed to be mounted.
     
  14. iFrostyy

    iFrostyy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    its alright i got it thx to Fab. Thx bro

    i guess i have to use the first line to rewrite stuff
     
  15. darrin2520

    darrin2520 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    ah - no wonder the second command was failing - the first command was actually failing. Once you do this, I think the line backing up the old driver will work if you still want to do that.
     
  16. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Exactly, the first line mounts /system for you to modify.

    The last line returns it to 'ro' read only.
     

Share This Page

Loading...