Need gps clarification on Samsung MomentSupport


Last Updated:

  1. alpha2k

    alpha2k Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    114
    Ok this may be a tad bit lengthy, so I appologize beforehand, somtimes I get on a tangent.
    With the Samsung moment I have read its an aGPS issue and that its a software issue, I have also read that its a weak/crappy antenna wich would make it a hardware flaw.
    I use a lot of apps that use location base aka: gps location, to work and with the Moment gps I have to be outside with a clear view of the sky in order for this to work. I have tried in my vehicle even next to a window, even tried on the dash in front and still no luck, I have to be out of the vehicle and it works. Well in a downpour of rain, this is neither cool nor good, just to find what movie is playing in my area. So I guess what I'm asking is is it s weak/crappy antenna issue? If this is the case I will be getting a different phone. Hero works fine so does the palm pre, it baffles me how the Moment doesn't work. If its a software/os issue I may wait but my worry is that it will be 6mo, 8mo, even a year down the road before it gets fixed, in wich case that's not good either. So what to do now, I really like the phone other than that, if the gps worked corrctly I would have "zero" issues with this phone, but given I bought it haveing the gps feature in mind, I really feel lied to and let down at this point, somewhat aggrevated. So does anyone know "for sure" what exactly this is....hardware or software?
     

    Advertisement
  2. arashed31

    arashed31 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    The aGPS is a software problem. This can be fixed in any Android OS 1.6 or later.

    The GPS does seem to have a weak antenna but it's not that bad. Standing outside you should be able to get some satellites.

    Here's my suggestion:
    Download GPS Status from the Android Market
    Go to the settings and enable both aGPS and GPS.
    Restart the phone.
    Disable aGPS
    Restart the phone.
    Disable GPS
    Restart the phone.
    Enable GPS
    Restart the phone.


    Ever since I did this, satellite locks seem to be much faster and I can connect to way more satellites (via GPS Status), too.
     
    iamanesha likes this.
  3. iamanesha

    iamanesha New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried this and the satellite will not lock. Also a hard reset 3 x's. I am taking my Samsung Moment into the Sprint store today. Hopefully they can fix the issue as i am 31 days in.
     
  4. GodCountryND

    GodCountryND Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    5
    Make Sprint replace it. I just did this yesterday. I could never get a lock unless i stood outside for 5 minutes and after getting the new phone yesterday it locks on within 4 seconds even sitting in my house. Wish I would have taken it in months ago.
     
  5. ydoucare

    ydoucare Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    I can get a GPS lock inside my house and car...takes a while, but it pretty much always works.
     
  6. mrmojoz

    mrmojoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    63
    I can get a lock inside some buildings, never had an issue outside or in a car.
     
  7. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    25
    The CL14 update in January fixed the aGPS issue, and with 2.1, it is also fixed.

    The problem I have is that the GPS radio in this phone isn't very sensitive, so getting a lock on the satellites doesn't work very well for me when I'm indoors. Outside, it's been OK. In the car, it's been 50/50.

    Luckily, most things I would use GPS for are OK with just the wireless location turned on and the GPS radio turned off.

    -SF
     
  8. maylea

    maylea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have posted this before. I use GPS Test from the market. And I have wireless GPS turned off. I run GPS Test first and then use what ever other GPS program I am needing. I get a fast accurate lock every time. NO issues using this method and this method maybe adds 5 secs at the most.
     
  9. Radical-J

    Radical-J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7
    I was like you but made Sprint *2 Talk send me another one (full kit not refurb--mention battery issues etc) and now I lock on indoors as well just get a new Moment and all will be well...
     
  10. jupraman

    jupraman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue on my moment with Sprint. I initially tried everything i could to fix a non-existing GPS signal (none). I took it into the store. I got the distinct impression the people working there knew something about the issue with this particular phone that I did not. When the girl saw the phone she took a step back and said, "Oh, this phone. Hold on." She took it to the back room told me it would take a couple hours to fix and told me she would give me the paperwork for coming in the store for repair. She later changed her mind and kept all the paperwork telling me to come back in 2 hours. Mind you this seemed weird since there were a lot of people in the store and i would assume they needed something to prove i came in to drop off my phone, or NOT. Very long story short, (sorry for the length) I came back waited another hour, 3 total, and was told "Sorry we can't help you, it's a problem with the network." Well I was very disappointed asked for a manager's number, got none, went home and called tech support which just decided to send me an HTC Hero. It works and i'm happy again. But I found out in the process that this phone is discontinued. This is almost always because there is a hardware problem. I am almost sure this is the case with the Moment phone. Don't waste your time trying to fix a slow hardware death. Put it out of it's misery. Get them to replace it.

     
  11. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    Please try to look at post dates before replying? 6 months makes a world of difference. The Moment is indeed EOL, but so is the Hero though there appears to be considerable stock still to be burned off. If I had to swap the Moment out now, I would prefer a Hero over another Moment. Still, I wouldn't consider a Hero for a new account/upgrade unless they were paying me to take it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...