Need help changing a few things in xtrROM


Last Updated:

  1. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    I like 4.6 xtrROM but I would like to change a few things.

    1. I like launcher pro but in 4.6 it has been made a systems app. How do I remove it? and if I do will it go back to the old style home with just the app tray. Sometimes I like just running with the app tray only.

    2. Is it possible to replace the built in camera app. I have Pro zoom camera app and would prefer to use it as default. I would like to actually make it the system app.

    Thanks...

    H
     

    Advertisement
  2. tenzomonk

    tenzomonk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. a couple of ways to do this. easiest would be to download the free app "Home Switcher" from the market. handy app. if you want to remove launcher pro all together, you can do the following (assuming ur on a PC w/sdk installed, from command prompt. if using a mac or *nix box, just replace "adb" with "./adb") :)

    adb remount
    adb shell
    cd system/app
    rm com.fede.launcher_v0.8.0.0 ** edit (it's named this in his ROM)
    exit
    exit

    if you press the "home" button, it would prompt you to select home. i don't think zach removed launcher.apk (i'll double check here in one minute).

    however, always have a good NAND before attempting anything. i def recommend the "Home Switcher" method.

    2. not sure... you could remove the HTCCamera.apk (same way as above) and try it out (though some apps require the "stock" app to be there... i believe). again, a NAND is always a good thing :)


    -------------------------------------

    edit: looks like it will default to xtrROM's "sense" home (i think)? in any case, Home Switcher FTW ;)
     
  3. nathanirwin311

    nathanirwin311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    16
    Tenzo, glad to see you here. Loving the new xtrrc mix. Keep up the good work :)
     
  4. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    Awesome. Thanks for the information Tenzo!
     
  5. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    welp I gave it a shot. Removed it from /system/app and there was a com.fede.launcher.apk in /data/app but was not able to return to home at all just a blank screen. Rebooted and it never booted up. restored from back up.

    Worth a shot I guess.
     
  6. ExcessiveIdling

    ExcessiveIdling Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    As I posted on xda forums....if you do NOT have a replacement launcher for launcher pro then you will encounter issues. I could've swarn xtr left the default launcher installed however that may not be the case.
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Right. I think what I would try next is get home switcher from the market and change home temporarily to Launcher (if it is still in the ROM - I think that it's not), or also download ADW (if there is no other launcher) and make that default home temporariy. Move Launcher Pro, use Home Switcher to change it back to default, and then remove ADW again.
     
  8. tenzomonk

    tenzomonk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ahhh, the reason there is one in data/app, is due to upgrades. the version that zach has in xtrROM is .0.8.0.0. the app is up to v0.8.1.1 now. so, when it updates from the market, it installs in data/app (not in system/app).

    also, i've included a link to the stock launcher... you should be able to push to system/app and gain the "stock" launcher (this is the launcher from xtrROM 4.5). try one of the following:

    adb remount
    adb push Launcher.apk /system/app

    reboot... then use Home Switcher to choose "Home" as default.

    at that point, you should be able to removed the "com.fede.launcher.apk" from data/app (as well as zach LPB from system/app... just like i posted above).

    i apologize, i didn't realize that zach completely removed the Launcher.apk all together in 4.6.


    Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!
     
  9. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ok... adding the home in worked. As an experiment I removed launcher pro. I then tried to put it back but that did not work. I still have default home which is groovy. I was just curious why I can't put back launcher pro at all. It wont install via market, it will push to the phone but is not an option in home switcher. It also says when I try to install it that it replacing an existing system app but the apk is not in either data/app or system/app

    No big deal, just curious. I will restore my back up and push home again. Just trying to learn how this all works. Maybe some day cook my own rom. Id like to add default ringtones to my system someday so they show up in the default list. Have my own totally customized pimped out ROM.

    Thanks!
     
  10. jhewit22

    jhewit22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm wondering if I can easily change the display of the battery to something different. In xtrROM, is is the circle, but I'm not 100% sure I like that as much. Easy way to change that?
     

Share This Page

Loading...