Need help! Didn't brick phone but messed up!


Last Updated:

  1. Inferno4213

    Inferno4213 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    So I rooted my phone yesterday with no problem at all. I followed the xda steps and it said my recovery image was RA-heroc-v1.5.2. I did a nandroid backup and everything it said. When I tried installing the cyanogen mod 6 it just wouldn't load properly and would always freeze when booting. I tried multiple times to no avail & i eventually wrote on a thread & some people were giving me some advice. One of the guys mentioned he was running the recovery image ClockwordMod Recovery v2.5.0.1 so I installed that & hard reset to it. Then I wiped & flashed the rom from the sd & again, it didn't work.

    HOWEVER, when I went to restore from my nandroid backup it didn't show any. I found the backup on the sd card by going through the flash zip & i saw the nandroid backup is still there but it won't let me run it. Is there anything I can do? If so, what? I'm really freaking out right now. The only thing I can think of is buying a micro sd reader and installing another rom onto it & trying to go from there. PLEASE HELP!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Inferno4213

    Inferno4213 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can I go into a sprint store and have them reset it to the factory default?
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I'm sorry this happened, I guess I should have wrote NANDROID FIRST before you do anything.:(
     
    Inferno4213 likes this.
  4. Heaterz16

    Heaterz16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    Why don't you run the RUU which will restore it back to factory, then root again if you want to?
     
  5. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'm pretty sure that each nandroid is particular to the RA in which you created it. Thus, if you used RA 1.5.2 to make a nandroid, you have to use the same recovery to restore it. ClockworkMod Recovery cannot recognize your nandroid because it didn't create it. I would suggest that you flash back to RA 1.5.2 and then reflash your nandroid.

    Also, with respect to flashing roms. The first boot up takes a while to load. Are you sure you were giving it enough time to boot up???? If you were, here is a different way of getting the rom on your phone. Try running Darch's RA 1.7 and flash from that. I was having troubles flashing the rom with RA 1.6.2, but had no troubles once I changed my RA to the Darch 1.7. Hope that info helps.
     
    Inferno4213 likes this.
  6. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    They will hand your phone back to you and tell you that the warranty on the phone has been voided. They do not train the employee's on the intricacies of rooting. You probably know more about your phone now than anyone at your local Sprint store.
     
  7. Inferno4213

    Inferno4213 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for all the help. I know I would be able to fix the phone but I don't know how to get access to the sd card because it won't come up on my computer. I'm thinking I'm going to have to go get an sd card reader to get access to it & try to fix it from there. Anyone else know of any way to access the sd card through the phone?
     
  8. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    If you want to take the time to learn the codes to push the files to your sd card through the cmd on your computer you can do it that way. However, an sd card reader would be much easier.
     
  9. Inferno4213

    Inferno4213 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    How would I flash back to RA 1.5.2? I've been giving it at least 10 minutes to boot up but it won't even get beyond the white htc screen.
     
  10. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Does your computer still recognize your phone when you connect the two?
     
  11. Inferno4213

    Inferno4213 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Nope.
     
  12. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Okay, I would suggest that you go ahead and get the card reader. Then, download this rom (the download link is further down the page with big bold letters that say DOWNLOAD) and copy it over to the root directory of you SD card. Then put the card back into your phone, boot to recovery, and flash the rom. After you have done that do a nandroid, and then comeback here and I can tell you how to get back to RA 1.5.2. If anyone else has any other easier suggestions feel free to jump in.
     
    Inferno4213 likes this.
  13. Inferno4213

    Inferno4213 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay, I'm about to go get one in a few minutes.
     
  14. Inferno4213

    Inferno4213 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    This worked perfectly. Seeing that dancing android robot made me so happy. Thank you all so much, you really saved me! Is there much reason for me to go back to RA 1.5.2 now that I have this rom working? I'm pretty content with the recovery I'm at. I'm about to do a nandroid backup right now.
     
  15. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    RA 1.5.2 is an older recovery, so the only reason you would really need it is to go back run your old nandroid.
     
  16. Inferno4213

    Inferno4213 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay then I'll just forget about it. I didn't have anything worth going back for. What did people do before google sync?
     

Share This Page

Loading...