need help flashing ROM


Last Updated:

  1. kidsolo

    kidsolo New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    ive been trying to flash the froyo ROM on my epic 4g using ROM manager n its not working can someone help me
     

    Advertisement
    Rebulldog likes this.
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Do it manually, do not trust or on ROM Manager.
     
  3. kidsolo

    kidsolo New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do I do it manually??
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Download the ROM you want and put it on your SD card. As always, make a nandroid backup.

    1) Power off the phone COMPLETELY.

    2) With the phone off, press and HOLD: Volume Lower button, Camera button and Power button.

    3) Continue to hold until green text shows up on screen.

    4) While using the volume keys to scroll up and down and the camera key to select, clear data/factory reset, clear cache and clear dalvik cache (under advanced) THREE TIMES.

    5) Install .zip file from SD card and select the ROM that you want to install.

    Wait for it to finish it's thing... select reboot now. Wait 5-10 minutes for the new ROM to load.
     
    jerbeck24 and Rebulldog like this.
  5. blader123

    blader123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank YOU!!!!
     
  6. kidsolo

    kidsolo New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks so much i appreciate it it worked perfect
     
  7. swanysto

    swanysto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    15
    I know it isn't the same problem, but I think it is similar, so I won't waste space on another thread.

    Maybe I am doing it wrong, but when I go into Rom manager and click "backup current ROM", if immediately reboots into clockwork, then gives me the following errors:

    E: failed to verify whole-file signature
    E: signature verification failed
    Installation aborted.

    I currently have my phone rooted, but I am not running a ROM. I was hoping to save my setup as a ROM to go back to if I mess something up.

    Thanks
     
  8. mjben

    mjben Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also ahve the same problem with my rooted Epic when I select Back Up Current ROM from the ROM Manager. Errors, and it apparently doesn't work. I'm currently not considering any new ROM, but I will get bored soon and will prpbably delve into it.
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Do NOT use ROM manager. ALWAYS do it manually.

    ROM Manager is buggy on the Epic.
     
  10. SirEpic

    SirEpic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I've got a problem. I'm trying to flash a ROM on my Epic, and I can't seem to follow the instructions that were put in this thread by Kelmar earlier.

    When I get to step 3, things seem to deviate with my phone. I get blue text, as opposed to green text. This might be a minor thing, but later on, I am unable to actually follow the instructions given.

    At step 4, I can do the first two parts (though my menu says "wipe" where Kelmar's instructions say "clear"), but I am unable to "clear dalvik cache". Kelmar mentions that this is under advanced, but I can't seem to find advanced. For whatever reasons, I think my recovery menu is different from Kelmar's and everyone else who posted on this thread.

    If it helps, here's what mine says:

    Android system recovery <2e>

    Samsung Recovery Utils
    - for BML -

    reboot system now
    apply sdcard:update.zip
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition

    Not sure if this is able to help anyone in such a way that they can help me, but anything would be appreciated.

    *EDIT*

    Completely disregard. I found my problem, and I feel very much like an idiot. Anyways, running my first non-stock ROM now. Cool stuff.
     
  11. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    Please let us know what you did...it might help somebody else!!!!
     
  12. swingwise

    swingwise New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is exactly my problem. Please tell me what you did to fix it. Thanks in advance.
     
  13. swingwise

    swingwise New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, didn't need help. The problem is ROM Manager doesn't install clockworkmod correctly. I fixed clockworkmod by using the instructions at Sprint Epic 4g - PPCGeeks Wiki and not only does clockworkmod work but the rom installed fine.
     
  14. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    Clockworkmod is installed in the latest one click method of rooting...just to clarify to others who may be reading this.
     
  15. mjben

    mjben Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have found that I was not "fully rooted with a true permanent root." I followed instructions through on two methods outlined on the xda developers forum to accomplish this, and it involved applying a new clockworkmod kernal to my rom.

    it's found here- go to the comprehensive guide for rooting, flashing, and android basics

    Samsung Galaxy S/SPH-D700 - XDA-Developers

    ROM Manager seems to work properly now on my epic.
     
  16. mroien

    mroien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help I have tried everything. I have run both a root with clockworkMOD and the clockworkMOD one-click and neither gave me clockworkMOD access. What else can I do? When I run either of the files above the CMD says files access denied.
     
  17. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    Did you follow the direction to the T???

    And how many times did you try??? Sometimes it takes a few times.

    Also, how long did you wait after that message? SOmetimes, it will say something like that....and then sit there for a minute.....and then start running code again. In fact, it does that alot. If anybody asked me the key to rooting it would be PATIENCE followed by "Don't freak out!!!!"!!!!!....:D:)
     
  18. j611obrien

    j611obrien New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope this doesnt mean my phone is bricked, but i'm at the menu which gives me the option to reboot now, apply sdcard, wipe date, etc. and when i hit the home icon to enter the screen goes black, doing nothing. HELPPPPPP
     
  19. j611obrien

    j611obrien New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    nevermind. Camera button does enter, not the home screen icon
     
  20. ragekage18

    ragekage18 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok couple of questions. I am having trouble finding a working link to the latest one click recovery and root can someone point me in the right direction?

    Also, I have clockwork on my phone via rom manager, do I need to uninstall this somehow before I run the one click method, or will it get overwritten?
     
  21. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    One Click Root & Recovery for the Epic 4G! v2.4.0 Now has ClockworkMod! - xda-developers

    This is the latest one click root and recovery.

    I would assume that it would override any previous versions.
     
    ragekage18 and JDubbleTrouble like this.
  22. ragekage18

    ragekage18 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok ran the new one click, it seems to have worked it took my old superuser app off of my phone and i was able to boot into the newer clockwork.

    thanks for the help there.

    now I just have to wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition, and wipeDalvik cache three times before I install the update.zip from my sd card right ?

    I reneamed the foryo rom.zip that I downloaded to update.zip is that right?
     
  23. JDubbleTrouble

    JDubbleTrouble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok so i flashed a dk17 rom to my phone last night after one click rooting. one problem is i lost phone service and the phone just wants to flash back and forth between airplane mode being on and off. what my real problem is is that according to the guide i was using i did use odin i missed that step somehow i know i need to flash back to stock di18 and try it agian usind odin i just havent found anywhere that explains using odin to do this...im just happy its not a brick any direction to using odin would help

    Edit:I figured out my noob problem which was not knowing how to use odin to flash the required modem and pit files I was skipping that step even though the guide was telling me how I now understand how to root finally and am just glad I haven't bricked my epic yet
     
  24. ragekage18

    ragekage18 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just an update here, I had no problems once I got the right files. O ran the one click root exploit and it replaced the clockwork that comes with rom manager with the right one. Also with the newer version of clock work you can select any zip off of you sd card so its name doesn't matter.

    Thanks to all who helped and responded.
     
  25. ragekage18

    ragekage18 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you make sure that you wiped both of the caches and factory data three times?
    You should try to use the clockwork recovery to flash the rom it is a lot more simple than using odin.

    Just make sure you have ther rom you want on your sd card and make sure you wipe the cahes and data three times and you shouldnt have any problems.
     
    JDubbleTrouble likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...